Joshua 22-24, Luke 12:1-31

“Now then,” said Joshua, “throw away the foreign gods that are among you and yield your hearts to the LORD, the God of Israel.”

And the people said to Joshua, “We will serve the LORD our God and obey him.” Joshua 23:23-24

“I tell you, whoever publicly acknowledges me before others, the Son of Man will also acknowledge before the angels of God. But whoever disowns me before others will be disowned before the angels of God. Luke 12:8-9 

Then he said to them, “Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; life does not consist in an abundance of possessions.” Luke 12:15 

Israel promised to serve and obey the Lord. Joshua knew they wouldn’t be able to follow through. A monument served as a witness and reminder of their intentions.

I feel like a poster child for salvation. I love the Lord my God with all my heart. My mind, soul and strength, however, lag a bit behind.

I know God sent his only Son Jesus to take the punishment for all of my imperfections. The cross testifies to how high a price the Savior paid to cancel our sin debt.

In the Scriptures, Jesus cautions that worldly cares will trip us up. Wishes for do-overs pepper many of my days. When I fall, I’m quick to point out the One who covers my sins, but my conscience still ends up bruised. The scabs of life make me long for heaven more every day.

“O to grace how great a debtor I am daily constrained to be.”

Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing. Robert Robinson 1735-1790

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mUhU0HgTq94 

Even so, come Lord Jesus.

yicareggie

3 Comments

Filed under Luke

3 responses to “Joshua 22-24, Luke 12:1-31

  1. amyctanner

    Thanks for this reminder Reggie. I can find myself getting stuck in regret as well. And forgetting that God can use my mistakes for His glory.

  2. Those mistakes and failings I make are reminders of my need of a Savior. Thank God that He does not hold up the past to me because Christ was lifted up once and for all. It’s my looking up at His sacrifice that continually humbles me. So I cherish that reminder.

  3. juliet2912

    My mistakes make me even more grateful that He was willing to be a sacrifice for me. And they make me grateful that He is the God of Grace. Because of the humility of my repentance and the mercy of His forgiveness I am able to be a Saint who sometimes sins and I am still given multiple chances. He doesn’t expect me to be perfect; He expects me to ‘strive’ in His strength and the covering of His perfect blood.

Leave a Reply

