John 13-16

Scripture

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world, you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33 (NIV)

Observation

The book of John is so very different than the other gospels–while the others speak a lot of Jesus’ miracles and his parables, John’s book goes deeper into the why of things. And from chapters 13 through 16, I found myself wanting to savor so much–great truths. But as I finished out chapter 16, this last verse stood out for me. It is a familiar verse.

Application

I have only read John before in fragmented bits and pieces. Hardly a good way of gaining understanding–an incomplete picture. And when a solitary verse is taken out of context–how can one really apply it? Is it supposed to act like a temporary Band-aid to cover a wound? For me, it was only steeping my mind in the before and after that I was able to know better. 16:33 is not the temporary patch to get me through my bad days–it’s the before and after that speaks to my soul and goes for deeper peace through deeper understanding. I can still use these words in my life, but not as a stand-alone comfort.

Prayer

Father, thank you for your Word! To think all this time I had tried sustaining myself on the bits and pieces when there was an entire feast to fill me up. I don’t want to keep using scriptural snippets as a Band-aid fix to my problems, but instead, I want to experience deep and permanent change through a lifetime walk with you. Amen.

66books365 (Courtney)

1 Comment

Filed under John, New Testament

One response to “John 13-16

Leave a Reply

