Genesis 23, Nehemiah 12, Matthew 22, Acts 22

Scripture

Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[b] 38This is the first and greatest commandment. 39And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[c] 40All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” Matthew 22:37-40 (NIV)

Observation

In a recent conversation, a new friend and I were talking about the fruit of the Spirit–specifically, self control. I said, “Don’t you have to work your way up through the first fruits before you get to self control?” We laughed a little, because with self control, I think it would make all the other fruits fall easily into place. But as I consider this verse above, and how simple and challenging it is all at once, I think of the first fruit: love. Were the fruits listed in any intentional, particular order? I don’t know. But love is a very good starting place.

I tell my kids frequently enough that they’ll probably say it to their kids one day, “Loving your neighbor starts at home with your family.” (And some days, the further outside my family I go, the harder it is to love.)

Application and prayer

Lord, I can only imagine what my home would be like if I could approach a cranky kid the way I would like to be approached when I’m cranky. Too often, it’s hindsight that tells me how to handle a situation. And often enough, it’s hindsight before I remember it.

Can we start with today, Lord? Today, could you whisper to me, “love,” when I am faced with pressures and frustrations? Today, could you say to me, “love,” when I move about life as business as usual? Can you remind me in my home, in my neighborhood, in my community, out in this world, and in my heart and soul and mind to love?

I don’t want to forget.

Courtney (66books365)

7 Comments

Filed under M'Cheyne Bible reading plan, Matthew, New Testament

7 responses to “Genesis 23, Nehemiah 12, Matthew 22, Acts 22

  1. Kathi Anglin

    Wow Courtney! What a timely reminder given the day ahead of me. Galations 5:6 has been our verse this year, “The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love”. Thanks for bringing that concept to the front of my mind this morning!!

  2. A worthy and illusive goal.

  3. I seems whenever I make it my goal to love, God sends me many unlovable people. Maybe the lesson for me is that since He loves me in my wretchedness that I should remember that and pass it on.

  4. love.

    keep on loving.

    above all these put on love.

    yep. it’s there alright! can’t get around it…

    no matter how often I forget… Lord thank you for reminding me

  5. Sue

    “Today, could you whisper to me, “love,” when I am faced with pressures and frustrations? Today, could you say to me, “love,” when I move about life as business as usual?” — I love that Courtney! I’m curious – did you hear any whispers today?

    BTW – I’m glad you highlighted this because it’s what I highlighted myself – and it is a great segway into tomorrow’s post – which isn’t written yet but I’ve thought about it and this is key! We’ll see what God brings to mind when I burn the midnight oil and make my post! 🙂

  6. As a matter of fact, I did hear quite a few whispers today. =)

Leave a Reply

