Daily Archives: September 11, 2010

2 Samuel 6, Psalm 55, Ezekiel 14, 1 Corinthians 16

I would venture to say, that almost everyone living in the USA and abroad, probably over the age of  15,vividly remembers what happened on this date 9 years ago. They remember what they were doing when they heard the news. They remember the horrific scenes witnessed on the TV screen.

I remember very distinctly. My 2nd daughter was exactly 4 months old that day. My oldest daughter was 2 years, 4 months and 1 week old. I remember Hannah watching the TV screen with me and then pointing and saying “Fire.” After that I decided to watch the footage when she wasn’t present.

As I was reading Psalm 55 this past week, knowing that I would be posting on 9/11, I couldn’t help but see images of the attacks in the words of David.

“My thoughts trouble me and I am distraught at the voice of the enemy, at the stares of the wicked; for they bring down suffering upon me and revile me in their anger. My heart is in anguish within me; the terrors of death assail me. Fear and trembling have beset me; horror has overwhelmed me.” (vs. 2-5)

“…I see violence and strife in the city.” (vs 9b)

“Destructive forces are at work in the city.” (vs 11a)

Why do we have to endure such evil? Why do bad things happen with such a loving God in absolute control?

I don’t even pretend to have the answer, except for the fact that our world and the humans living in it are under the curse of sin and bad things will continue to happen until our Redeemer returns.

What I do know is found in the final 2 verses of Psalm 55.

“Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you…” (vs 22a)

Especially in the last 8 words of the chapter.

“But as for me, I trust in You.” (vs 23b)

Even when our world as a whole, or just my individual world seems to fall apart, I need to keep trusting in God and relying on Him to see me through whatever comes.

__________

Lord,

The evil in this world stuns me at times. How people can be so cold and calculating is beyond understanding. Help me to give you all my cares and concerns, because You are the only true sustainer of my life and to put my ultimate trust only in You.

Amen

– Beckie (look2thehills)

*Scripture taken from NIV*

1 Comment

Filed under M'Cheyne Bible reading plan, Old Testament, Psalms