Genesis 1; Ezra 1; Matthew 1; Acts 1

I fell asleep about an hour before midnight. I didn’t see the new year turn over, can’t say if the neighbors set off fireworks. This morning, musing over texts and Facebook statuses of happy new year wishes, I think about beginnings again and resolutions and hope for what’s to come.

The start of a reading plan takes me back to the beginnings: Genesis, Ezra, Matthew, Acts.

Creation of the world, rebuilding of a temple, the birth of the Messiah, the start of the church.

I find hope in his pages.

In emptiness, he creates.

Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters. Genesis 1:2

His Word is fulfilled, and he rebuilds.

In the first year of Cyrus king of Persia, in order to fulfill the word of the LORD spoken by Jeremiah, the LORD moved the heart of Cyrus king of Persia to make a proclamation throughout his realm and also to put it in writing. Ezra 1:1

He saves.

But after he had considered this, an angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream and said, “Joseph son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary home as your wife, because what is conceived in her is from the Holy Spirit. She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins.” Matthew 1: 20-21.

He knows.

Then they prayed, “Lord, you know everyone’s heart …”Acts 1:24 (a) (emphasis mine)

Father, you can make something out of nothing. You change hearts. You take away fears and you save. And you know what is in this heart. In this new year, I am eager to see what you will do in my life, in my heart. I am excited to go deeper into your word, to fall deeper in love with you. When I am not in control of anything beyond my own actions, I can look to your word and see you holding it all together: You create. You rebuild. You save. You know. You are my peace and my hope. Amen.

Courtney (66books365)

 

5 Comments

Filed under Acts, Ezra, Genesis, M'Cheyne Bible reading plan, Matthew, New Testament, Old Testament

5 responses to “Genesis 1; Ezra 1; Matthew 1; Acts 1

  1. Sue

    What a beautiful post to start out our new year! Thanks Courtney – Looking forward to 2011! (do we really have a choice? 🙂 ).

    “When I am not in control of anything beyond my own actions, I can look to your word and see you holding it all together…” – I need the constant reminder!

  2. Thanks, Sue.

    I’m looking forward too–I think it’s going to be a great year.

    =)

  3. Day one…I’m so excited. I came into 66Books half way into the year last year and I’ll confess, not always consistent in my reading. My daughter and son in law also reading through the Bible last year with this same plan, were rejoicing on Dec. 31st, in their accomplishment of completing the whole year of reading the Bible and looking forward to repeating this reading plan in 2011. I’m excited for this fresh start, a new beginning, reading with along with all of you and my family.

    Happy New Year and New Beginnings!

  4. I love it! Thanks for sharing, Cindi.

  5. Creates, rebuilds, saves, knows. Bingo. Not only true, but in the right order!

Leave a Reply

