Genesis 15; Nehemiah 4; Matthew 14; Acts 14

Abram didn’t see the bigger picture, until he stood outside and gazed at the stars. The Lord said, “So shall your offspring be.” Abram believed him, and the Lord credited it to him as righteousness.

The Jews faced anger and ridicule. The labor force was weakening, and threat rose, “Wherever you turn, they will attack us.” Yet with this opposition, they worked with all their hearts to rebuild. “But we prayed to our God and posted a guard day and night to meet this threat.” Nehemiah 4:9

Peter’s eager faith propelled him out of the safety of a boat. Not far into his water walk, he felt the wet and the wind. He began to sink. His voice, “Lord, save me!”

Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?” Matthew 14:31

In Lystra there sat a man who was lame. He had been that way from birth and had never walked. He listened to Paul as he was speaking. Paul looked directly at him, saw that he had faith to be healed and called out, “Stand up on your feet!” At that, the man jumped up and began to walk. Acts 14:8-10

These are stories of faith.

When I can’t see the big picture …

When I am ridiculed, threatened, tired …

When the wet and the wind whittle at my eager start and I doubt …

(And I can’t see the bigger picture, and I am tired, and, oh, the doubts swirling around me …)

Lord, you are still you. If I can look into your history and see your great work, I can look into my now and find you still. I am reminded today, you hold it all together. You did it throughout the ages. You do it now. I will pray to you, and I will keep to my work with all my heart.

Courtney (66books365)

3 Comments

Filed under Acts, Genesis, M'Cheyne Bible reading plan, Matthew, Nehemiah, New Testament, Old Testament

3 responses to “Genesis 15; Nehemiah 4; Matthew 14; Acts 14

  1. jmitch1

    Awesome post Courtney! We’ve talked about this before, but it never ceases to amaze me that faith is so simple. God has written it all down for us. We just have to listen! Thanks!!!

  2. Beckie

    Great post Courtney. You’re right…He was there then and He’s here in our now. Keep the faith sister. Love you!

  3. Especially when my now is uncertain, it is a huge comfort to me to see him always there (and always here). Grateful for these witnesses of faith in tough times.

Leave a Reply

