2 Samuel 17; 2 Corinthians 10; Ezekiel 24; Psalm 72

For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does.  The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.  We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.  2 Corinthians 10:3-5

When Paul talks of demolishing strongholds and arguments that resist the knowledge of God, I think he is referring to adjusting wrong attitudes and beliefs of believers.  The reason I think this is that he is writing to believers in Corinth and he goes on to write, “And we will be ready to punish every act of disobedience, once your obedience is complete.”  (2 Cor 10:6)

So that begs the question:  What strongholds, arguments, and pretensions in my life are keeping me from knowing God better?

Unfortunately, I can think of lots of examples.  Invariably, they begin with pride.

Pride that I already know what I need to know.
Pride that I can manage on my own.
Pride that I am responsible for my successes in life.

Lord God,
Allow the “Pauls” in my life to speak boldly of my strongholds and give me the humility to hear them and take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.  Amen.

Greg (gmd40187)

1 Comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians, 66 Books, M'Cheyne Bible reading plan

One response to “2 Samuel 17; 2 Corinthians 10; Ezekiel 24; Psalm 72

  1. An attention-grabbing dialogue is worth comment. I feel that you need to write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject however generally people are not sufficient to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

Leave a comment