Daily Archives: January 10, 2012

Job 3,4; Mathew 8:1-17

Mathew 8

2 A man with leprosy came and knelt before him and said, “Lord, if you are willing, you can make me clean.” 3 Jesus Reached out his hand and touched the man.  “I am willing,” he said.” Be Clean!” Immediately he was cured of his leprosy.

Job 3

1 After this, Job opened his mouth and cursed the day of his birth.

11 Why did I not perish at birth and die as I came from the womb?

Observation:

Job discovered that sometimes life gets a little difficult (maybe a lot difficult in Job’s case).  It’s amazing how quickly I can drop in to a “Woe Is Me” attitude with just a slight nudge from my normal routine.  I can get knocked off course with the slightest obstacle, however with Jesus as the foundation that should not happen so easily.  Jesus says that he is able and willing to heal us.  All it takes is a little faith.

Application:

I always have a choice.  Even when I think (and say) that I have no choice, there is always more than one path that I can take.  I can choose to react like Job does here and feel sorry for myself.  Things have a way of piling up and making life difficult once I start to feel sorry for myself.  It is easier to look around at everyone else, whose life seems much easier than mine, than it is to accept that God has me right where I need to be.   If I always choose to keep my focus on Jesus,  He is able and willing to heal me and make my life better no matter what obstacles lay before me.

Prayer:

Father may you help me to always seek you, in both my sorrow and my excitement.  Help me to turn to you in all things and guide me away from my doubts and fears that lead to taking the path to a pity party. Continue to show me your love, grace, and mercy, in Jesus name, Amen.

Ed (edsorrell)

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Job, Matthew