Genesis 23,24; Matthew 17

I think I’ve done it too. Like Abraham’s servant on a mission to find a wife for Isaac–he stood there before a well, talking to God, telling Him how it ought to go down … if this, and that, then this is how I will know “… I found huge delight at what followed:

Before he had finished praying, he saw a young woman named Rebekah coming out with her water jug on her shoulder. Genesis 24:15a (NLT; emphasis mine)

Looking back in time, God’s hand becomes easier to see. But in the moment, I imagine the task Abraham’s servant faced. I sensed his uncertainty building, and his prayer touched me, because I’ve done similar: God, if this is what You want, make it clear to me! And to think that before my prayer is finished leaving my mouth, He’s already worked it out. Sometimes so I can recognize it, other times in ways that take me by surprise.

I wonder what Peter thought when Jesus told him to reach into the mouth of a fish and retrieve coins to pay the taxes! It should not have been any less astonishing were Peter told to ask a specific person for the coins, or to even find them on the ground … but Jesus takes it to the extraordinary. Jesus stretches Peter’s thinking (and mine).

Lord, I’m so grateful for all the ways you make yourself known–that I find you in ways I can recognize, and in ways I’d never imagine. I delight in seeing your hand active in history (and my life), how you stretch my imagination. Thank you for always being there.

Courtney (66books365)

Listening to: You Were There by Avalon.

 

5 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Genesis, Matthew, Old Testament

5 responses to “Genesis 23,24; Matthew 17

  1. dmbaldwin

    A great devotional this morning. Thank you so much Courtney. What always amuses me about the servant was he had to tell God where he was. “Behold, I am standing by the spring of water…” As if God doesn’t see and know everything! Yet God answered his pray as you so aptly described.
    Blessings,
    Dave

  2. Lol, Dave. That is so endearing about him.

  3. Both stories are reminders to me of God’s intimate relationship with those who love Him and call on Him for guidance. What hits home to me is that God does use the expected form of communication each person in the story would receive. The servant seemed intent on finding a woman who would complement his master – someone who was attentive to the needs of a man and would go beyond that service to include all that is important to him – what a gift to Isaac who loved Rebecka dearly. And Peter, the fisherman, would understand the treasure inside the mouth of a fish as being extraordinary, yet he was comfortable with the idea of fishing. If God wants to answer my prayers, He won’t send me fishing, and He knows I’m a little reserved when it comes to meeting new people. How will He speak answers to my prayer? Hmmm….probably with lots of confirmation in writing and words from tried and true people of faith. Devotionals work well, too!

  4. There is something so poetic about the way you look at things.

  5. Excellent observation, Janet. Thanks for putting it in those terms. I hadn’t quite pieced it together that way.

    Courtney

Leave a Reply

