Exodus 39, 40; Mark 4:21-41

Just a regular person, reading the Bible.

Notes in Exodus: ephod made with great skill, care; stones that represent tribes; a reminder to the priest that he represents them; all done, just as the Lord commanded. HOLY TO THE LORD. Bread of Presence; cloud over the tabernacle; fire at night so the whole family of Israel could see it; this continued throughout all their journeys.

Mark: lamp on a stand; seed and harvest; listen and understand! Even the wind and waves obey.

All done, just as the Lord commanded. A running refrain in these chapters in Exodus. When it was easy to get lost in the details of craftsmanship, His command repeats. The details, the order, the process–why so much attention devoted to these things? But these are not the images impressing upon me. It is His repeating command. It is HOLY TO THE LORD. It is this Bread of Presence, and a visual presence by day and night, so that the whole family of Israel could see it.

The cloud of the LORD hovered over the Tabernacle during the day, and at night fire glowed inside the cloud so the whole family of Israel could see it. This continued throughout all their journeys. (Exodus 40:38 NLT)

Jesus speaks of a lamp on a stand, and I think of Old Testament days and God’s presence with them that the whole family (of Israel) could see. Now God with us, in us. This light that can glow for a whole family to see.

Garments woven and adorned in the Old Testament, HOLY TO THE LORD. That He would care of these details, how much more does He care for our details?

I read lightly of a tossing boat and the disciples’ concern, just a sentence or two. But I stop to play it in real-time–my own storm, my own fears, my own cries. Lord, don’t you care that I’m drowning?

I read His rebuke in the turbulence, “Silence! Be still!” And I’m standing on the deck with the disciples as He turns and says,

“Why are you afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

HOLY TO THE LORD. God’s presence through the journey. He speaks into my life today.

Footnote: Mark 4:24–The measure you give will be the measure you get back.

Thank you, Lord, that you meet us where we are.

Courtney (66books365)

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan

2 responses to “Exodus 39, 40; Mark 4:21-41

  1. I, too, was struck by the words, Holy to the Lord. The garments God detailed to Moses for the priesthood made me think of years ago when I sewed clothes for my then kindergarten age daughter. I fussed over picking out the material, cutting out the pattern, and sewing the pieces together. How fun, though, to actually see wear that dress. She was my little girl garbed in the clothes I made for her. We are holy to our Lord. He knows us in our nakedness, and He delights in us clothed in His righteousness!

  2. juliet2912

    Yes, thank you for meeting me where I am. I have high hopes to get in the Word and have a special time of prayer, worship, devotion…and as a mom to a one year old, it never quite seems to happen with any regularity. Thank you for meeting me when I am cooking, washing clothes, running after my toddler, and even in the bathroom!

Leave a Reply

