Deuteronomy 14,15,16; Luke 5:1-16

When we moved here the end of last summer, my friend Reggie came over to check out our “new” old house. She walked the property with me, down the back jungle path, through the front garden, into the side yard where the apple and walnut trees are. She saw in this place exactly what my heart had seen, and her words stuck with me, coming back often to remind (and encourage) me when I feel overwhelmed, “Use this place to glorify God.”

This move brought us closer to several family friends. We now spend much more time with them than we ever had. My father’s girlfriend lives a few minutes down the road. Before we moved here, I saw her probably twice a year, and now she joins us weekly on Friday nights for dinner. I think of Fridays as a “Friday night open door” as we’ve enjoyed the company of long-time (or just-getting-to-know) friends and their kids around our table.

Today’s reading in the Old Testament talks about tithing, generosity, festivals.

22 “You must set aside a tithe of your crops—one-tenth of all the crops you harvest each year. 23 Bring this tithe to the designated place of worship—the place the Lord your God chooses for his name to be honored—and eat it there in his presence. Deuteronomy 14:22-23 (NLT).

When I wanted to be in a community group to read the Bible and connect with others who craved God’s Word, God brought me to 66 Books. When I continued to crave deeper, interpersonal connections around me, God moved our family here–out of a neighborhood and into the woods! We don’t just bump into a neighbor walking by–all of our interactions are intentional, inviting others to be in our lives. God quite regularly causes me to think outside the box–an online community group, a (literal, county-wide) community around me joining me at the table. I had my own ideas of what honoring God might look like, but He has shown me how to do it with my life.

Father, I am always delighted in you. You open my eyes to this world around me and show me life in new ways. Thank you for choosing this place to be our home. My biggest desire is that my life would honor you.

Courtney (66books365)

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Deuteronomy, Old Testament

2 responses to “Deuteronomy 14,15,16; Luke 5:1-16

  1. jmitch1

    I can picture that day you and Reggie had walking the property now that I’ve been there. And I really connect with your heart on this. Our place is in the woods too (we’ll have to have you here) and many times I spend my quiet times either outside or at least gazing out there. His Glory and Majesty is ever present around us! Loved this post! So Friday night dinners huh? 😉
    Jim

  2. You and Kim are practically neighbors as far as country neighbors go! We should get you over for a Friday bonfire sometime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

