Isaiah 62,63,64; Romans 12

My pastor is preaching a series about the direction of our church. He asked us to think about,”If Jesus were to write a letter to our church, “What would it say?” And, what really hit home for me, “If He were to write a letter to us personally, what would it say?” I imagine it would say something like this, “I am proud of you for________, but nevertheless, I have this against you__________.”

Sometimes I want to hurry up and get to maturity in Christ without doing the work that it takes to get there. That’s when I can be too focused on what I am doing or how I am acting. Than I realize that I have it backwards, because Paul says , “The only accurate way to understand ourselves is by what God is and by what he does for us, not by what we are and what we do for him.” Romans 12:3MSG

It’s about giving it all back to Him…

So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you; Take your everyday. Ordinary life-your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life-and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you. Romans 12:1-2MSG

As I read over my sermon notes…I come across this prayer from a leadership conference….I give..“My love, My heart, My talents, My energy, My Creativity, My faithfulness,My Resources, My Gratitude…I will bring my best today, You deserve it, Its the hope of the World.”

Have you ever felt insignificant? I have…sometimes I let my fears, insecurities and doubts hold me back. But, when I change my focus off of myself than all of that starts fading away….“Each one of us finds meaning our meaning and function as a part of his body. But as a chopped-off finger or cut-off toe we wouldn’t amount to much, would we? So since we find ourselves fashioned into all these excellently formed and marvelously functioning parts in Christ’s body, let’s just go ahead and be what we were made to be , without enviously or pridefully comparing ourselves with each other, or trying to be something we aren’t…Love from the center of who you are; don’t fake it. Run for dear life from evil; hold on for dear life from good. Be good friends who love deeply; practice playing second fiddle.” Romans 12:4-6,9-10MSG

Thank you Jesus for love, grace & mercy. That you always meet me right where I am. Thank you for placing me in a church family to help me grow & stretch in my love for You & others. Help me to look beyond myself to love others like You love me. Amen

Amy(amyctanner)

 

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Isaiah, Romans

2 responses to “Isaiah 62,63,64; Romans 12

  1. Thank you for getting me thinking again on where the focus should be.

  2. Pingback: Belajar Berkhotbah « Talk 2 The World

Leave a comment