Numbers 20, Psalm 58, Psalm 59, Isaiah 9:8-10:4, James 3

Read - http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Num.%2020;%20Ps.%2058,59;%20Isa.9:8-10:4;%20James%203&version=NKJV

Numbers 20             Moses said, “Hear now, you rebels!” Then Moses lifted his hand and struck the rock twice with his rod; and water came out abundantly – The Lord spoke to Moses, “Because you did not believe Me, to hallow Me in the eyes of the children of Israel, therefore you shall not bring this assembly into the land which I have given them.”

            Not by Faith, but out of anger did Moses serve the Lord God. Therefore God was not seen as Holy by the witnesses. The consequence? No Promised Land for Moses. How many times do my emotions over rule my trust in God and His Word? How many witnesses of my words and actions have I turned away from God? How many ways do I circumvent Jesus’ Glory by my own self interests? How many “promised land” situations have I been cut off from because of this!? Jesus, I willfully, actively choose to think and act by faith and trusting Your Word/ Relationship so that I do not focus on what so easily ensnares me. (1)

Psalm 58 , Psalm 59, Isaiah 9:8-10:4, James 3 –

               The wicked … go astray, speaking lies. Their poison is like the poison of a serpent; The mighty gather against me, Not for my transgression nor for my sin, O Lord.For the sin of their mouth and the words of their lips, And for the cursing and lying which they speak. Psalm 58-59

               The tongue is a little member and boasts great things. The tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity. … it defiles the whole body, and sets on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire by hell. No man can tame the tongue. It is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison. With it we bless our God and Father, and with it we curse men…  James 3

            Lord, am I double minded and forked tongued? Do I say and do what I think and feel? Please have mercy on me and reveal to me my innermost motives, desires and Your Truth perspectives. If I do not yield to You, You will overtake me by wrathful force. (2)

              Because of this, He shall take them away as with a whirlwind, As in His living and burning wrath. .. Consume them in wrath, consume them, And let them know that God rules in Jacob To the ends of the earth. … the Lord shall set up the adversaries against him, the Lord will cut off … Through the wrath of the Lord of hosts The land is burned up. Psalm 58-59, Isaiah 9:8-10:4

              I fear both Your just judgment and wrath as well as losing Your peace, joy and intimacy in relationship with You. I confess to You the realty of my fickleness. I hate sin!

Who say in pride and arrogance of heart: “We will rebuild with hewn stones; We will replace them with cedars.” For the people do not turn to Him who strikes them, Nor do they seek the Lord of hosts. Isaiah 9:8-10:4

              I surrender to You, Lord Jesus Christ, my willfulness to do things my own way, as I see fit without doing Your Word and Holy Spirit counsel. I purpose my mind to “take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” and have my tongue, hands and feet move according to Your Holy Spirit. (5)

Your judgments are clear:

              “Woe to those who decree unrighteous decrees, Who write misfortune, Which they have prescribed To rob the needy of justice, Without Me they shall bow down among the prisoners, And they shall fall among the slain.” Isaiah 9:8-10:4

Yet You say FOUR TIMES in Isaiah 9:8-10:4

For all this His anger is not turned away, But His hand is stretched out still.”

             You reach out to me and to all of us – Come to Me!” “For I take no pleasure in the death of anyone, declares the Sovereign Lord. Repent and live!”  Rejecting my usual patterns, turning away from sinful relationships, not wasting time, not looking at useless information, abhorring addictions, habits and weak mindsets is Your Requirement for holiness! Step by step, day by day, I will live Your success by Your Way! (3)

The righteous shall rejoice when he sees the vengeance;  So that men will say, “Surely there is a reward for the righteous; Surely He is God who judges in the earth.” I will wait for You, For God is my defense. My God of mercy shall come to meet me; Psalm 58-59

              Repentance’s fruit is Sweet! What Peace, Joy and Freedom to be unselfish and not needy when I walk in repentance! Repentance takes time, practice, pain without regret and a lot of work by Repeatedly Doing Your thoughts and Your Ways. But the Refreshment and Still waters are more than worth it!! Thanks my Mentor and Power, Lord God Jesus Christ! (4)  

But I will sing of Your power; Yes, I will sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning; For You have been my defense And refuge in the day of my trouble. To You, O my Strength, I will sing praises; For God is my defense, My God of mercy. Psalm 58-59

But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy. Now the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace. James 3

 

Crystal (PsalmThirty4)

3 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Isaiah, James, M'Cheyne Bible reading plan, New Testament, Numbers, Old Testament, Psalms, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Numbers 20, Psalm 58, Psalm 59, Isaiah 9:8-10:4, James 3

  1. I don’t mean to disagree with you, but your journey into holiness will not be guided by the whip of a tyrant. God will gently lead you to truth through the conviction of the Holy Spirit. Of course we make our own decisions, but Scripture after Scripture reminds us of our loving, forgiving, Savior who knows our weaknesses. It is not our mistakes and sins that separate us from God after our hearts have been knit together by professing Jesus Christ as our Lord. Instead, it is the deceit and lying of God’s enemy, the devil, that clouds the Cross from our vision when we fail. I hold onto the knowledge that Christ has paid for my sins and that I must press into Him more during the temptations and falls I experience. How sad I am to admit my shortcomings; how grateful I am to acknowledge God’s mercy!

  2. Janice, Thank you for your reminder of God’s Everlasting Mercy and Grace!

    Because of this, Yes, the Lord God does lead me to Truth by the conviction of His Holy Spirit. However, I am sad to say that I have found myself to be “deaf, unresponsive, rebellious, proud, …” and it is at those times that the Lord God IS Faithful to me by treating me as the child He cherishes. He continues in His process of completing the good work He began in me. The Lord God purposefully allows situations and circumstance, minor or major, which cause me to turn and come to Him, by showing me my prodigal attitudes, mindsets and ways. It is in this very manner which My Father deals with me that inspire me to Fear and Love Him in increasingly healthy amounts.

    My willful sins, not “mistakes”, separate me from God’s Presence, peace, wisdom and joy. Yes, my eternity is secure by the sealing of the Holy Spirit because of the Blood Atonement of the Lord Jesus Christ! I REJOICE in this! Yes, the deceit and lies of the world, flesh and the devil cloud the Cross from my vision when I fail. I am glad to join you in holding onto the knowledge that Christ has paid for my all of my sins and that I must press into Him more during the temptations and falls I experience. I am to crave the Word of God and live by it for “seeing” in the darkness so to walk in obedience with our Savior and Lord Jesus Christ. Repentance is a fabulous gift from God! It brings intimacy with God and times of refreshing and healing!

    Thank you for sharing!!! What a good reminder and Sweet fellowship!

    Psalm 100:5; Psalm 103:17; Jeremiah 31:3; Proverbs 3:11-12; 1 John 3:1; Philippians 1:6; Luke 15:11-32; Psalm 50:10; Proverbs 15:3; Matthew 6:25-26; Leviticus 11:45; Hebrews 10:12; Matthew 27:45-54; John 19:28-30; Matthew 26:28; Hebrews 9:22; Romans 10:9-10; Ephesians 4:30; Psalm 119:105; Isaiah 59:2; Isaiah 1:18; 1 John 1:9; Acts 3:19

    http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm%20100:5;%20Psalm%20103:17;%20Jeremiah%2031:3;%20Proverbs%203:11-12;%201%20John%203:1;%20Philippians%201:6;%20Luke%2015:11-32;%20Psalm%2050:10;%20Proverbs%2015:3;%20Matthew%206:25-26;%20Leviticus%2011:45;%20Hebrews%2010:12;%20Matthew%2027:45-54;%20John%2019:28-30;%20Matthew%2026:28;%20Hebrews%209:22;%20Romans%2010:9-10;%20Ephesians%204:30;%20Psalm%20119:105;%20Isaiah%2059:2;%20Isaiah%201:18;%201%20John%201:9,%20Acts%203:19&version=NKJV

  3. Pingback: Day 164: Psalms 55-60; More on Praying, Lamenting, and Justice | Overisel Reformed Church

Leave a Reply

