Ruth 1-4; Luke 11:29-54

Naomi said, Look, your sister-in-law is going back home to live with her own people and gods; go with her,but Ruth said, “Don’t force me to leave you; don’t make me go home. Where you go, I go; and where you live, I’ll live. Your people are my people, your God is my God; where you die, I’ll die and that’s where I’ll be buried, so help me God-not even death itself is going to come between us!” Ruth 1:14-17 MSG

Ruth embraced God’s leading.

How does this happen that you should pick me out and treat me so kindly-me a foreigner? Boaz answered her, “I’ve heard all about you-heard about the way you treated your mother-in-law after the death of her husband, and how you left your father and mother and the land of your birth and have come to live among a bunch of strangers. God will reward you for what you’ve done-and with a generous bonus besides from God, to whom you’ve come seeking protection under His wings.” Ruth 2:10-12 MSG

Ruth saw God’s favor in her life.

Everybody in town knows what a courageous woman you are-a real prize! You’re right, I am a close relative to you, but there is one even closer than I am.” Ruth 3:11&12 MSG

Ruth lived out her faith.

No one lights a lamp, then hides it in a drawer. It’s put on a lamp stand so those entering the room have light to see where they’re going. Your eye is a lamp, lighting up your whole body. If you live wide-eyed in wonder and belief, your body fills up with light. If you lives squinty-eyed in greed and distrust, your body is a dark cellar. Keep your eyes open, your lamp burning, so you don’t get musty and murky. Keep your life as well-lighted as your best-lighted room.” Luke 11:33-36 MSG

How often do I lose my focus by wanting to please others, instead of God? Sometimes I get discouraged when things are not turning out like I think they should. But, these seemingly set backs might be what God is using to draw me closer to Himself. To strip away pride and reliance on myself. It seems like Ruth walked so closely with the Lord that she was not swayed to turn back, even from Naomi’s insistence. She did not say “Well, OK, you are probably right.” What is my life saying?  There have been times when I have wanted to  turn back to the comfortable and familiar. But, I think about how I would have missed out on the new thing that God was doing.  And what He was teaching me in the sometimes painful process.

Dear Father, I want to live my life so closely to you that I don’t give a second thought to following Your leading. Help me be a light to others. Thank you for your grace and mercy. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

 

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Luke, New Testament, Old Testament, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Ruth 1-4; Luke 11:29-54

  1. Your prayer is mine too.

  2. I love this. So true.

Leave a Reply

