1 Samuel 1-3, Luke 12:1-34

For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

Tim Keller in his book Counterfeit Gods, calls the heart an “idol factory.” He says it has the tendency and potential to make an idol out of anything and everything. Sometimes, new idols can even replace old idols with the same function. Isn’t dominance at home just unrewarded cowardice at work? However, idols can be spotted and eliminated if the heart can be kept in checked. The principle is — the heart follows treasure. Not the other way around.

Where do I spend most of my time? Where do my thoughts go when I let them wander? Where does my extra spending money go? What captures my attention, emotions, affections?

What I like about this passage is that Jesus prescribes not just a list of creature comforts to avoid, but redirects our focus to lock on to something bigger. He knows the heart. He knows its magnetism towards food, clothes, work, worry. And once it has a little morsel of worry to gnaw it, it gets stuck in repetitive motion. Jesus calls this worry worldly and redundant. Our Father knows that we need these most basic things. It’s covered. Whether I feel like He’s providing or not, He knows my most essential need and will fill it.

However, Jesus isn’t saying just don’t sweat the small stuff. He’s saying: Seek His Kingdom. Push everything else aside in light of seeing God’s will be done here on earth. Will anything else really matter in comparison to the mission? If I am devoted to drawing closer in relationship to Christ and inviting others along with me, what difference does it make if all the little dots in my plan don’t align?

To be wrapped up in the divine saga is the highest calling ever. I don’t think at the end of my story I’ll fret over my paid vacation time, 401K, or two car garage. I’ll want to know if I made an eternal difference in the lives of others. That is the kingdom I want to seek.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “1 Samuel 1-3, Luke 12:1-34

  1. God guides wisely and well

Leave a Reply

