1 Samuel 10, 11, 12; Luke 13:22-34

Then Samuel brought all the tribes of Israel near, and the tribe of Benjamin was taken by lot. He brought the tribe of Benjamin near by its clans, and the clan of the Matrites was taken by lot; and Saul the son of Kish was taken by lot. But when they sought him, he could not be found. So they inquired again of the Lord, “Is there a man still to come?” and the Lord said, “Behold, he has hidden himself among the baggage.” Then they ran and took him from there. And when he stood among the people, he was taller than any of the people from his shoulders upward. 1 Samuel 10:20-23

I think that God shows me small pieces of His plans for me because seeing the ‘Big Picture’ would be too overwhelming. Little glimpses are all I can handle, tiny leaps of faith, one step at a time. If I look too far ahead, I get scared thinking about the enormity of the task set before me.

I think that is what Saul was going through…he was just anointed king of Israel by Samuel. The Spirit of the Lord came upon him and he began prophesying with a group of prophets. God gave him a new heart and he’s become a different man. The people are talking behind his back, wondering what has happened to him, questioning the changes. And then before the whole of Israel, tribe by tribe, family by family, man by man God reveals His chosen as Saul.

Saul hid himself from the people; and he tried to hide from God. He hid from the job for which he’d been anointed and the pressures that would come from being the leader. It didn’t matter that God hand picked him. It didn’t matter that he was a big man. It didn’t matter that he had talents and skills. He was scared at the undertaking he’d been given.

So often I am anxious about my calling and what it entails. Am I good enough? Do I have the skills that are needed? Do I have the courage, the strength, the resources? Am I really the best person for the job?

And Samuel said to the people, “Do not be afraid; you have done all this evil. Yet do not turn aside from following the Lord, but serve the Lord with all your heart. And do not turn aside after empty things that cannot profit or deliver, for they are empty. For the Lord will not forsake his people, for his great name’s sake, because it has pleased the Lord to make you a people for himself. 1 Samuel 12:20-22

God’s Word shares many times over that the Lord will never leave me nor forsake me, because He has chosen me. He has chosen me to be His, chosen me to serve Him. God chose me, and I suppose that does mean I am the right person for the assignment. He will supply my needs and provide resources. He will teach me the skills and give me the talents. He will give me courage. He will strengthen me.

He does not call the equipped; He equips the called.

I need not be afraid; I need not hide. I only need to follow Him and serve Him with my whole heart. I need to trust in His power, in His faithfulness, and in His goodness. I need to focus on His face, on what He has accomplished and not look to the right or to the left at things that distract me and make me susceptible to attacks from the enemy.

Yesappa, help me rise above the fear and keep my eyes on You through the journey of my life. Equip me and strengthen me, give me Your grace for every task You have for me. Help me never hide my light beneath a bushel. Thank You for shining through me for Your name’s sake. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

 

Blessings – Julie (writing from Sholavandan)

 

 

Unless otherwise indicated, all scripture quotations are from The Holy Bible, English Standard Version® (ESV®), copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

2 Comments

Filed under 1 Samuel, 66 Books, ESV Through the Bible in a Year, Luke, New Testament, Old Testament

2 responses to “1 Samuel 10, 11, 12; Luke 13:22-34

  1. I love this, Julie. I should read it daily when I feel intimidated by the tasks ahead of me.

  2. I needed this. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

