I Samuel 13-14; Luke 14:1-24; Luke 19:37-46

I Samuel 14: 45 says, “‘As the Lord lives, not one hair of his head shall fall to the ground, for he has worked with God this day.’ So the people rescued Johnathan, and he did not die.”

Luke 14:27 says, “And whoever does not bear his cross and come after Me cannot be My disciple.”

Luke 19:41-42 says, “If you had known, even you, especially in this your day, the things that make for your peace!” But now they are hidden from your eyes.”

This Sunday we celebrate Christ’s triumphal entry into Jerusalem. We are taught to remember how the people cheered and waved palm branches, called him King and praised God for Him.  We are also told in God’s word that He was arrested on Thursday and crucified on Friday.

Whenever I read these passages I have to fight the tendency to ask “Why?”

Why is it that many who follow Christ seem protected from harm and hardship?  Why are others not rescued from their troubles?  Why do a few move in circles of Christian fellowship, while a good many either walk invisibly or seem to have a target taped to their backs? Why do the crosses of some seem too hard to bear while others just jangle silver or gold crosses around their neck?

There must be more to these situations than I can see, believe, or hope. I try to be positive about the truth that many of our negative situations are brought on by sin. I say this because I know that Christ Jesus can forgive.  Also my conscious does condemn me so much so that I gladly hoist that cross onto my shoulder just to feel I can make some kind of amends.

Somehow, though, I keep looking toward the resurrection from these deaths in my existence.  The death of my obsessions, for instance.  My obsessions are more like worries.  I worry that I’m one step away from homelessness.  I worry about family and friends who are ill.  I worry about finances and work.  I worry at work.  Not the nail biting worry, but the bite the bullet worry (aka, carry the cross).

It is easier to understand why Jesus looked over Jerusalem and wept. Because the people were caught up in pleasing the Roman government, they did not even notice salvation standing before them.

Though He was heralded upon entering Jerusalem, He was soon pushed out of the way by the same crowd.  Why? He said that the people could not see. What is it that they could not see? This man who could perform miracles? A man who might raise an army or take political office? This God who could bring them salvation?

Let us pray that we might see the things that make for our peace this week.

jsw

3 Comments

Filed under 1 Samuel, 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Luke, New Testament

3 responses to “I Samuel 13-14; Luke 14:1-24; Luke 19:37-46

  1. Excellent post, Janet. So much to think about.

  2. May we always believe He is in charge regardless of life itself

  3. Beautifully put Janet. There are so many things that I’ll never have the answers for here on this side of the heaven. I am thankful that at the end of all this is the Cross that was suffered us and then the Resurrection to break the power of all that torments us, from the petty, stupid concerns to death itself. It continually amazes me that we, who are so undeserving receive such exorbitant grace.

Leave a Reply

