2 Samuel 4-6; Luke 18:18-43

In Beth Moore’s devotional “Breaking Free Day by Day” she says that, “Every stronghold is related to something we have exalted to a higher position than God in our lives.” David went to the stronghold to defeat the Philistines. He answered Rechab,“The Lord has redeemed my life out of every adversity.” 2 Sam 4:9 ESV. “David took the stronghold of Zion…David lived in the stronghold and called it the city of David.”2 Sam 5:7 &9 ESV.

Where do I retreat to? Sometimes inside myself, into my own walls.

David became greater and greater, for the Lord, the God of hosts, was with him…for then the Lord has gone out before you to strike down the army of the Philistines. And David did as the Lord commanded him, and struck down the Philistines from Geba to Gezer.” 2 Sam 5:10,24&25 ESV

David went to his place of protection, his stronghold. He wasn’t afraid because he knew that the Lord was with him. I have a feeling that he knew that his place of safety was wherever the Lord was.

And David danced before the Lord with all his might. David said, “It was before the Lord, who chose me above your father and above all his house, to appoint me as prince over Israel, the people of the Lord-and I will celebrate before the Lord.” 2 Sam 6:14 &21 ESV

The Lord is my stronghold, my victory. I pray that I would have eyes to see, just like the blind man.

What do you want me to do for you? “Lord, let me recover my sight. And Jesus said to him- “Recover your sight; your faith has made you well,” And immediately he recovered his sight and followed him, glorifying God. And all the people, when they saw it, gave praise to God.” Luke 18:41-43 ESV

Thank you Jesus that,“What is impossible with man, is possible with You.” Luke 8:27 ESV. That Your ways are higher than mine. That when I run to other things and other places of “safety” I am trying to do things on my own. Thank you for your presence. And that You promise to never leave me or forsake me. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

3 Comments

Filed under 2 Samuel, 66 Books, Luke, Uncategorized

3 responses to “2 Samuel 4-6; Luke 18:18-43

  1. Needed to hear this today. Thanks.

  2. amyctanner

    :)amen

Leave a Reply

