2 Samuel 17-18; Luke 21:1-19

2 Samuel 17:14 “’For the advice of Hushai the Archite is better than the advice of Ahithophel.’ For the Lord had purposed to defeat the good advice of Ahithophel, to the intent that the Lord might bring disaster on Absalom.”

Luke 21:14, 15 “Therefore settle it in your hearts not to meditate beforehand on what you will answer; for I will give you a mouth and wisdom which all your adversaries will not be able to contradict or resist.”

Sometimes I wish I would just stop talking.  My attempts to be witty make me the butt of the joke since I can never remember the punch line, or I use the wrong word or phrase in an attempt at sarcasm, or I state the obvious when trying to sound profound.

Other times my head hurts with all my deep thinking and introspection, as if I could solve the world’s problems with rational formulas. I end up with more questions than answers.

What would it be like to speak only what the Lord intended? What if you knew as you spoke that what you said came from God?

Is there a way to know when this will happen?  We read that we don’t have to stew over what to say, and even that others cannot resist the words we speak if that is what God intends.  Is this only for war time?  Does this only occur in the end of days?

There have been times when I have not prepared what to say and found that the questions asked prompted me to speak truth, wisdom, and peace that brought about change.  The experiences left me feeling humbled by a Presence larger than my intellect.

I am convinced that God speaks His will into our lives and through our obedience.  And if I could find a way to speak only what His Holy Spirit moves me to say, how much more effective and healing my words would bring.  If I could see with spiritual eyes what to pick up, what to put away, and what to hold in holy gaze, how many more people might acknowledge Christ.  But there I go again, trying to prepare my mouth and mind,  as if I had any control in the matter.

What I do have is a direct line to God; we all do who call Him Lord.  We can rest in His Promise, the Helper, to speak into us what God intends.  That is our calling, to wait for His move and prepare to open our mouth once God, Himself, fills it with His purpose.

May it be always.

Janet

2 Comments

Filed under 2 Samuel, 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Luke, Old Testament

2 responses to “2 Samuel 17-18; Luke 21:1-19

  1. Sure needed this reminder and encouragement today!

  2. I’m glad I’m not alone. I feel that as long as I have been journeying with the Lord, I should be better at walking this narrow path. Instead, I find myself looking down at my own feet. I guess stumbling in the path is better than veering off the path. : )

    On Sun, Apr 27, 2014 at 7:04 AM, Sixty-six books in a year wrote:

    >

Leave a Reply

