2 Samuel 21-22; Luke 22:1-30

David sang this song to the Lord on the day the Lord rescued him from all his enemies and from Saul. 2 Samuel 22:1 NLT.

The day we loaded up the kids’ play set in our real estate agent’s box truck, my husband set the radio to my favorite station. I had never driven a big truck like that, and it was intimidating to me. He turned it around so all I had to do was put it in drive and go. We were starting a new chapter of our lives in many respects. When I turned the corner that led to our next house, a song came on the radio: Move, by Mercy Me.

I laughed at the soundtrack life offered up.

That was the year I picked “worship” as a focus word.

That year, God taught me a lot about worship.

When I couldn’t think of a song to praise him, he gave me song. And when I couldn’t find the voice to worship him, he gave me tears. He showed me how to worship not just with my lips, but with my life.

There were other songs during that time I walked in the valley. And when I hear those songs today, I straddle a line of before and after, and I can praise God for his faithfulness, his provision, his protection, and his mercy.

I hung out with David a lot during that time. His mess, his faith, his fear, his cry–all taught me about worship and how to do it from the pit. My cave looked different. And my enemies did too. But my God is still the same: rock, fortress, savior, refuge.

“The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior;
    my God is my rock, in whom I find protection.
He is my shield, the power that saves me,
    and my place of safety.
He is my refuge, my savior,
    the one who saves me from violence.
I called on the Lord, who is worthy of praise,
    and he saved me from my enemies. 2 Samuel 22:2-4 NLT

Alleluia.

Father, I learned so much those years in struggle and depression. Thank you for walking beside me.

Courtney (66books365)

From the archives. Originally published September 26, 2013.

4 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan

4 responses to “2 Samuel 21-22; Luke 22:1-30

  1. what a great post – thank you so much

  2. amyctanner

    I can think of worship songs too that have marked times in my life. Thanks for the reminders. And for sharing your heart, I can so relate. Love this!

  3. Thank you, evanlaar and Amy.

  4. Songs are the best way to remember Scripture, remind ourselves of the beauty and fun in life, and move our souls to repair and heal others. I don’t know how people can go a day without listening to or singing a song!

Leave a Reply

