Nehemiah 4-6; Acts 2:14-47

Nehemiah prayed, “Oh listen to us, dear God. We’re so despised: Boomerang their ridicule on their heads; have their enemies cart them off as war trophies to a land of no return; don’t forgive their iniquity, don’t wipe away their sin – they’ve insulted the builders!” We kept at it, repairing and rebuilding the wall. The whole wall was joined together and halfway to its intended height because the people had a heart for the work. When Sanballat Tobiah, the Arabs, the Ammonites, and the Ashdodites heard that the repairs of the walls of Jerusalem were going so well- that the breaks in the wall were being fixed-they were absolutely furious. They put their heads together and decided to fight against Jerusalem and create as much trouble as they could. We countered with prayer to our God and set a round-the-clock guard against them” Neh 4: 4-9 MSG

I have learned the hard way that sometimes rebuilding the wall means that it will take a while. Brick after brick, if it is going to be done right. But, I don’t always want to take the time. The process can be exhausting and draining. I tend to get sloppy and my bricks start falling down.  God gave me a humorous example of this today, when my son’s birthday cake started falling over in the car.  I lifted it back up piece by piece. That’s what I feel like God does with me. If only I submit to Him and remember how much I need Him.

So I stationed the armed guards at the most vulnerable places of the wall and assigned people by families with their swords, lances, and bows. After looking things over I stood up and spoke to the nobles, officials, and everyone else: “Don’t be afraid of them. Put your minds on the Master, great and awesome, and then fight for your brothers, your sons, your daughters, your wives, and your homes.” Neh 4:13-14 MSG

I want my wall to built with scripture and the truth of God’s word.  So, when the unexpected happens, my wall will not come crumbling down…

Death was no match for him. David said it all: I saw God before me for all time.  Nothing can shake me; he’s right by my side.  I’m glad from the inside out, ecstatic;  I’ve pitched my tent in the land of hope.” Acts 2:26-27 MSG

Thank you Father that You are my rock and my fortress. That You protect me when trouble comes. I pray that I would run to you for all my needs. Because You are faithful and Your strength is made perfect in my weakness. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Acts, Nehemiah, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

