Psalm 13-16; Acts 18

My wife and I have been going through a season that could be summed up as confusion. This Psalm hit home for me, to the point where I read and re-read it over and over again, with nothing to say except a grunt of agreement in my soul. Realizing that David expresses things so perfectly, I hope you’re able to follow along with his words in bold, and mine intermixed.

The art of lament is often lost on us.

If you’re in this sort of a season I think you’ll find it a helpful exercise to re-word some Psalms as your own prayers of sorts. If you aren’t in this sort of a season, doing it with a bit of a happier Psalm will probably be better.

In any event I just love and appreciate the honesty of the Psalms, I need more of that between me and God.

Psalm 13

How long, Lord, will you continue to ignore me?

How long will you pay no attention to me?

 

I can’t count the number of times I’ve felt this way. It was always hard to admit, I spoke with a woman at church about this today. When church is a big room full of people you have to put on a face. In close knit community is where you have to drag this stuff into the light.

 

How long must I worry,

and suffer in broad daylight?

 

It seems like no one else is going through this, and I’m an outcast. People can see it on my face, I can’t actually hide the frustration and confusion any more. I guarantee every single Pastor has felt this way, but there’s a sense of having to hide it. It can’t come out in sermons, and we definitely don’t sing songs or pray prayers corporately that sound like this.

 

How long will my enemy gloat over me?

Look at me! Answer me, O Lord my God!

 

Can you see the enemy as he defeats me God? Are you watching this happen?

Why stand so far off? Will it last forever or at some point will you step in? and when?

 

Revive me, or else I will die!

Then my enemy will say, “I have defeated him!”

 

You’re all that can save me, all that make new life come from these dry bones.

It’s you or death God.

You or death.

 

Then my foes will rejoice because I am upended.

But I trust in your faithfulness.

 

I see our enemy’s victory on the horizon.

But your chesed (lovingkindness) will remain steadfast.

 

May I rejoice because of your deliverance!

I will sing praises to the Lord

 

I will rejoice! You will deliver, and I will praise your name because of the vindication on it’s way.

 

 

when he vindicates me.

 

WHEN you free me.

– – – – – – –

Not if,

but when.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

