Psalm 50-52; Acts 27:1-25

Psalm 52:8 …I trust in the mercy of God forever and forever.

Mercy – the answer to the mess I get myself in or allow others to put me in, which I guess is the same thing.

Trust – the action I take to reach the One who is bigger than my troubles; who watches over me; who is waiting to deliver me at the right time, not with arbitrary decision.

Mercy is the goodness (loyal love) of God that endures continuously; unmistaken is His work and never an isolated event.

Mercy is connected to God withholding judgment. I am well aware of my sins most days. God is well aware of my sins moment to moment from conception to the end of my life. So I have learned from King David to pray his words captured in Psalm 51:1, “Have mercy on me, O God, according to Your lovingkindness; According to the multitude of Your tender mercies, Blot out my transgressions.”

The Hebrew word used for mercy in these Psalms is chanan, which means to bow, to stoop in kindness to an inferior. When God shows us mercy, He does so with full intention of attending to our prayer, forgiving and saving us completely.  I like what Paul said to the men on a doomed ship, “Therefore, take heart men, for I believe God that it will be just as it was told me…,” Acts 27:25.  The Apostle had no doubt that God would save him, and he was adamant that if the others followed, they would reap the same benefits. We are at the mercy of God, even if we are weak in faith.

All we need do is call on Him. He said so.  In Psalm 50:15, God says, “Call upon Me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify Me.”

Then we will experience His mercy.  Then we can teach transgressors His ways, so that sinners will turn back to Him, Psalm 51:13. I know I can teach the mercy of God. I am well acquainted with His mercy.

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Acts, Bible in a year reading plan, New Testament, Old Testament, Psalms

2 responses to “Psalm 50-52; Acts 27:1-25

  1. I love it that his mercies are new every morning. I count on that and look forward to that…also glad that they arrive first thing in the morning since I am not a morning person!

  2. Thank God for that! One day without His mercies would be youknowwhat
    on earth!

Leave a Reply

