Psalm 70-72; Romans 4

Psalm 70:5 You are my help and my deliverer…

Psalm 71:5 For You are my hope, O Lord God, You are my trust…

Psalm 72:17 You only do wondrous things!

Romans 4:17 God, who gives life to the dead and calls those things which do not exist as though they did; who, contrary to hope, in hope believed.

Extraordinary!  Cosmic in wondrous works; personal in wonderful counsel.  Nothing short of believing in God will open His floodgate of love for His creations. Nothing pleases God so much as faith.  These Scriptures highlight faith’s foundation – declaring that God is the one who can save us from a world of trouble; accepting that what we do not see has already been accomplished.

Especially meaningful to me are the words, “God …gives life to the dead and calls those things which to do not exist as though they did. Lately I have been thinking about dead things – relationships, dreams, career goals, and more. When have these things consumed my life; why am I just now letting them go?

It would be a stretch of the truth to say that I’ve learned how to lay the confusion or the guilt or the pain down, for my words and my complaints would whisper, “Liar.” Another certain revelation that calls me out is the lunacy of living in an ostrich’s famed pose spewing sand with every attempt at speaking peace underground.

Yet in the open there is no other truth, no other run, and no way to recover from having to face stark reality – I am relying on myself to drum up joy and contentment – faith’s requirement.

Then a skinny, small print book, Enjoy the Lord, falls from the shelf into hands that have learned contemplation with all its ambivalence. I read the words that “if you desire to delight the loving heart of your God, be careful to speak to Him as often as you are able, and with the fullest confidence that He will not disdain to answer and to speak with you in return.”

I believe these talks can be initiated by affirming His help, believing He will rescue, acknowledging the wonder of His acts, and hoping against all visual evidence the resurrection of all things dead. Only He can do wondrous things; continue to believe it!

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, New Testament, Old Testament, Psalms, Romans

Leave a Reply

