Ps. 116-118, 1 Cor. 2

I was on a flight from BWI to Missouri and happened to run into a guy and few of his buddies from North Carolina on their way to a golf tournament. The conversation turned to spiritual matters and we ended up having a really in encouraging discussion. As I was packing my stuff up at the end up a flight he slipped me a book and said maybe it would be of more use to me. It was a book called Face to Face by Kenneth Boa. Boa transposes scripture into the first person as prayers and organizes them into theme to be prayed through daily. It’s really an elegant and intimate tool for using the words of Scripture to speak to God. Here’s today’s passages structured after Face to Face:

 

Adoration: (Ps. 116:5-6)

Gracious is the Lord, and righteous;
    our God is merciful.
The Lord preserves the simple;
    when I was brought low, he saved me.

Pause to express your prayers of praise and adoration.

 

Confession: (Ps. 116:18-19)

I will pay my vows to the Lord
    in the presence of all his people,
in the courts of the house of the Lord,
    in your midst, O Jerusalem.

Ask the Spirit to search your heart for any unconfessed sin. Acknowledge these to the Lord and thank him for his forgiveness.

 

Renewal: (1 Cor. 2:12-13)

Now we have received not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, that we might understand the things freely given us by God. And we impart this in words not taught by human wisdom but taught by the Spirit,interpreting spiritual truths to those who are spiritual.

Pause to add your own prayers for personal renewal.

 

Intercession / Petition: (1 Cor. 2:1-5)

And I, when I came to you, brothers, did not come proclaiming to you the testimony of God with lofty speech or wisdom. For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. And I was with you in weakness and in fear and much trembling, and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, so that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.

Pause here to petition God for growth in love and compassion toward others. Offer prayers for your loved ones, for those who do not know Christ and for those in need.

 

Affirmation: (Ps. 118:21-22)

I thank you that you have answered me
    and have become my salvation.
The stone that the builders rejected
    has become the cornerstone.

Pause to reflect on Christ as the cornerstone and the basis for Salvation–in life and after life.

 

Thanksgiving / Closing Prayer: (Ps. 117)

Praise the Lord, all nations!
    Extol him, all peoples!
For great is his steadfast love toward us,
    and the faithfulness of the Lord endures forever.
Praise the Lord!

Pause to offer your own expressions of thanksgiving.

 Christian

 

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, ESV Through the Bible in a Year

One response to “Ps. 116-118, 1 Cor. 2

  1. What a great way to pray each day!

Leave a Reply

