Psalm 119:1-48; 1 Corinthians 3

Joyful are people of integrity,

    who follow the instructions of the Lord.

Joyful are those who obey his laws

    and search for him with all their hearts.

They do not compromise with evil,

    and they walk only in his paths.

You have charged us

    to keep your commandments carefully.

Oh, that my actions would consistently

    reflect your decrees!

Then I will not be ashamed

    when I compare my life with your commands.

As I learn your righteous regulations,

    I will thank you by living as I should!

I will obey your decrees.

    Please don’t give up on me! Ps 119:1-8, NLT

God reminds me, when my thoughts run circles through my head in early morning hours (stress, conflict, resentment), follow him. It’s easy to get sucked into the whirlwind of emotion. Can I avoid slipping into this pit of resentment? He can spare me of shame and give me integrity and joy. Oh, that my actions would consistently reflect his decrees.

for you are still controlled by your sinful nature. You are jealous of one another and quarrel with each other. Doesn’t that prove you are controlled by your sinful nature? Aren’t you living like people of the world? 1 Corinthians 3:3, NLT.

Christ is doing a new thing in me, building me upon his solid foundation. My initial thoughts and subsequent emotions clearly credit my sinful nature. Can’t I choose a better way? I don’t want to live like people of the world. God shakes me awake. I was sleepwalking down old paths.

13 But on the judgment day, fire will reveal what kind of work each builder has done. The fire will show if a person’s work has any value. 14 If the work survives, that builder will receive a reward. 15 But if the work is burned up, the builder will suffer great loss. The builder will be saved, but like someone barely escaping through a wall of flames. 1 Corinthians 3:13-15, NLT.

It is so easy to forget I have a choice. It’s easy to live like my God life is separate from my daily life. Every time I have chosen God’s way over another, he has given me integrity in place of shame. He has honored me. Sometimes I don’t see that immediately. He tells me, today, in this conflict, to follow him.

Lord, please don’t give up on me.

Courtney (66books365)

 

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, ESV Through the Bible in a Year

One response to “Psalm 119:1-48; 1 Corinthians 3

  1. Just doing the next right thing is my motto.

Leave a Reply

