Ps 124-127; 1 Cor 7:1-24

A song of ascents, by Solomon.

If the Lord does not build a house,

then those who build it work in vain.

If the Lord does not guard a city,

then the watchman stands guard in vain.

It is vain for you to rise early, come home late,

and work so hard for your food.

Yes, he can provide for those whom he loves even when they sleep.

Yes, sons are a gift from the Lord,

the fruit of the womb is a reward.

Sons born during one’s youth

are like arrows in a warrior’s hand.

How blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them!

They will not be put to shame when they confront enemies at the city gate.

Psalm 127

– – – – – – –

It’s fitting that this Psalm fell on the schedule for me today, what a great reminder.

My wife and I celebrate our two year anniversary, and my dad read this Psalm at our wedding.

As I reflect back on the past two years I find myself asking, ‘has the Lord been building the house?’

Or have I been laboring in vain?

Working and working on being a better husband, having a better marriage, all in my own strength?

Unfortunately more often than not I’m trying to do things in my own strength instead of relying on the Lord.

The trend with me tends to be that when I’m in that mindset of focusing on my own strength, it’s generally because I’ve been lacking in 3 main areas.

1. I’m not reading the word very often.

2. I’m not praying very often.

3. I’m not serving others.

No rocket science or complex answers to the question of “How do I better rely on the Lord in the coming years of my marriage?”.

Just the answer to spend more time with Jesus, and spend more time serving others.

A house built on that will stand.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ps 124-127; 1 Cor 7:1-24

  1. These words are better than a three day weekend!

Leave a Reply

