Psalm 128-131; 1 Cor 7:25-40

I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, And in His word I do hope. My soul waits for the Lord. More than those who watch for the morning-Yes, more than those who watch for the morning.” Psalm 130:5 &6 NKJV

I don’t like times of waiting. In a sense I feel like I am in one of those times now. Waiting to see what God will do. I had a friend remind me that when there is unrest in the soul, it could mean that God is about to do something or we need to act. I was reminded of this when I read a blog post about waiting from graceuncommon.com called, “When the Lesson is Wait.” In it she gives, 3 Reasons to find hope through a season of wait. Her suggestions are to…

1.Pray out loud

2.Keep going

3.Be expectant

The last one is my favorite, because it gets me excited to see what God will do. Even though sometimes it might be painful or mean that I have to get over myself and step out of the way. This is when I am reminded of the bigger picture. That my troubles pail in the light of eternity. And maybe God is preparing me for just that…

But this I say, brethren from, the time is short, so that from now on even those who have wives should be as though they had none, those who weep as though they did not weep, those who rejoice as though they did not rejoice, those who buy as though they did not possess, and those who use this world as not misusing it. For the form of this world is passing away.” 1 Cor 7:29-31 NKJV

Dear Father, When I get bogged down in the waiting, help me to remember the bigger picture and how short this life is. Keep me humble, remembering that You will finish the work You started in Me. Amen

Amy(amyctanner)

 

2 Comments

Filed under 1 Corinthians, New Testament, Old Testament, Psalms

2 responses to “Psalm 128-131; 1 Cor 7:25-40

  1. Even in the waiting, look to the present; I’m seeing the work of His hands before me to hold. I’m realizing that others have been waiting for me to get to this place. I just pray to be working still.

  2. amyctanner

    So true Janet, I don’t want to miss what God is doing now.

Leave a Reply

