Jeremiah 46-48; Hebrews 4

I live in a city with a naval air base about 5 miles away. The background noise of jets soaring above and rescue vehicle sirens are a continual reminder that sin is at work: wars are all too real and accidents happen. The good news is that it’s just about a half mile walk down to the ocean where I can sit and wonder.  The noise dissolves and time seems to stop beside the water. Every day the ocean is the same but new. Beauty unfolds in a thousand ways large and small. The noise of life in a broken world fades.  My mind quiets and I BEHOLD the goodness of God as showcased in Creation.

Creation is a mere reflection of God’s glory, whereas, Jesus is “the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word.” Hebrews 1:3There’s no need to walk down to the water’s edge to discover this truth. To spend time with Jesus, dwelling on the riches and beauty of his love is to worship God and enter into the Sabbath rest the writer of Hebrews describes:

There remains, then, a Sabbath-rest for the people of God: for anyone who enters God’s rest also rests from his own work, just as God did from his. Hebrews 4:9-10

God knows that our lives are busy, but to quote the old Finnish proverb, “God didn’t invent hurry.” He commands us to stop long enough embrace the Sabbath, and rest in the wonder of Jesus. It’s God’s job, not ours to make the world go around. Stopping long enough to notice his hand at work, allows him to breathe new life into us.

Lord Jesus, forgive me when I have chosen hurriedness and distraction over your Sabbath rest. Help me to stop long enough to wonder at your beauty and rest in your love.  Amen

klueh

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nn5ken3RJBo

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan

One response to “Jeremiah 46-48; Hebrews 4

  1. Kathy, I had to laugh aloud when I realized that midway through reading this I noticed that my furrowed brow gave away my inner agitation. Instead of enjoying the read, I was hurrying through it looking for the punch line. Then I read what you wrote, “To spend time with Jesus, dwelling on the riches and beauty of his love is to worship God and enter into the Sabbath rest.” Like setting down a basket of rocks, I felt light and relieved. To worship God is to be at rest; not innert, but content and at peace. Thanks for the image of the ocean’s mesmerizing effect; wish I was there, too!

Leave a Reply

