Ezekiel 7-9; Hebrews 10:24-39

Reading today’s Ezekiel passage brought me back to earlier this year as we read detailed instructions God gave the Israelites for the contents, construction and worship in his holy tabernacle and the temple. In Ezekiel 8, all of that is violated. Egyptian idols and imagery desecrate the walls. Fragrant incense is offered up in the place meant to honor the holy One of Israel, but  instead offers tribute to foreign gods. Women turn from their creator and choose to worship a Babylonian god of fertility. Men turn their backs on the temple of God so they can worship the sun. They delude themselves saying, “The Lord does not see us; the Lord has forsaken the land.” Ezekiel 8:12

How did they get to such a place? It’s terrifying, really. False pride can lull me to believing that I am made of better stuff than they. Then, the battle is lost and the downward slide can begin. There have been times when I accused God of not seeing, not hearing. His grace has found me and always welcomed me home.

Christ has chosen this wandering heart and made it his. He knows my every inclination. He knows my past, present and future. He sees all and still claims me as his own. The good news is found in Hebrews; in Christ, I have the high priest who “went through the the greater and more perfect tabernacle that is not man-made, that is to say, not a part of the creation… How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God!” Hebrews 8:11…14.

Lord, what a Savior you are.

How beautiful, faithful, forgiving, how loving you are.

Every breath that I take, every beat of my heart is a gift from you.

Keep your song in my heart.

Hold me close throughout today.

Thank you.

klueh

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

