Ezekial 17-19; Hebrews 13

Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” So we may boldly say:“The Lord is my helper;

I will not fear. What can man do to me?” Hebrews 13:5&6 NKJV

As Thanksgiving gets closer, a common theme that keeps coming up in my life, is being thankful. I have been trying to make a conscious effort to write things I am grateful for in my journal. Because I know that if I don’t, I will quickly forget. This happened to me recently. I could see a way that God had provided, and just as quickly as I thanked him for it, I started to feel discontent. Than God sent this little nugget of truth my way in an Ann Voskamp blog. In it she says, “Yeah, so I’ve struggled with this addiction. A ‘Waiting Room Addiction’: Waiting for the next season of life to say it’s good enough. Waiting for the next number on the scale to say we’re okay enough. Waiting for the next dream, the next house, the next bend in the road, the next time I get it together—before I can finally step out of the Waiting Room Living & into Really Living—and frankly? I’m just done with that”… “What cures us of our addiction to Waiting Room Living is ThanksGiving: When we give thanks for the miraculous Gift of Now-we get to step out of Waiting Room Living and into the miracle of Really Living.”

Dear Father, Help me to be content in You.

And all the trees of the field shall know that I, the Lord, have brought down the high tree and exalted the low tree, dried up the green tree and made the dry tree flourish; I, the Lord, have spoken and have done it.” Ezekial 17:24 NKJV

Dear Father, Help me to stay humble, knowing that everything I have is from You. Thank you that You are always with me. That You never change. Thank you that in all the chaos around me, I can rest in that truth. Amen.

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” Hebrews 13:8 NKJV

Amy(amyctanner)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ezekial 17-19; Hebrews 13

  1. I’m all about living in the now. Eyes cast out or backward usually brings anxiety or sadness as my brain races over what I cannot control. But the moment; now that is something I can learn to accept as it lands in my lap; holding it up in curious awareness of what God is doing. Loving and being loved by the Spirit of God who dwells inside me at that very moment.

Leave a Reply

