Ezekiel 38-39; 1 Peter 4

In the subhead title of Restoration for God’s People, I think long on restoration. It is a sweet reminder of a Father who won’t leave me behind and will not turn His face from me. This is comfort I need.

28 Then my people will know that I am the Lord their God, because I sent them away to exile and brought them home again. I will leave none of my people behind. 29 And I will never again turn my face from them, for I will pour out my Spirit upon the people of Israel. I, the Sovereign Lord, have spoken!” Ezekiel 39:28-29, NLT, emphasis mine.

When I go through the process of preparing home and table for guests, I’m assaulted by a critical voice–and the thing about the thoughts that makes them so hard: it’s my voice, and the things I think about have happened–so it’s not a stretch to wonder if the worst will come again.

“Why do I do this?” I’ve asked. It’s a multilevel question.

Most important of all, continue to show deep love for each other, for love covers a multitude of sins. Cheerfully share your home with those who need a meal or a place to stay.

10 God has given each of you a gift from his great variety of spiritual gifts. Use them well to serve one another. 1 Peter 4:8-10, NLT.

Help me, Lord.

19 So if you are suffering in a manner that pleases God, keep on doing what is right, and trust your lives to the God who created you, for he will never fail you.

It’s such a simple statement: keep on doing what is right and trust (your) life to God–he will never fail you.

Lord, take my anxious thoughts. From greeting to goodbye, you already know what this day holds–and whatever that might be, I can trust you. I hold onto these verses: that you won’t leave me behind; that you won’t turn your face from me; that you won’t fail me. You give me hope when things feel hopeless. You show me nothing is impossible for you. I’m thankful for these scriptures, for your love for me, for your encouragement to keep on being who you’ve made me to be. Thank you for loving me every day as much as the last–you show me what love is.

Courtney (66books365)

3 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, ESV Through the Bible in a Year

3 responses to “Ezekiel 38-39; 1 Peter 4

  1. juliet2912

    ❤ Another HUGE reason to give thanks today and everyday!: "that [God] won’t leave me behind; that [He] won’t turn [His] face from me; that [He] won’t fail me. [He] gives me hope when things feel hopeless. [He] shows me nothing is impossible for [Him]"

  2. “I can trust you.” Your words, Courtney, hurt so much because I know I can do no other. Yet, to need Him so desparately hurts so much.

  3. Jesus’s words “Blessed are the poor in spirit,” seem almost cruel in times of such desperate pain, yet they couldn’t be truer. I am praying that you are carried in his arms and tender care, Janet. My heart is with you.

Leave a Reply

