Daniel 9, 10; 2 John 1

Daniel prays and his words reach out to grab and grasp at God. Hear your servant’s prayer … listen as I plead … lean down and listen to me. There is desperation and urgency and need.

“O Lord, hear. O Lord, forgive.” Daniel 9:19a, NLT.

God answers prayer in a variety of ways. He sent Daniel a messenger.

12 Then he said, “Don’t be afraid, Daniel. Since the first day you began to pray for understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your request has been heard in heaven. I have come in answer to your prayer.” Daniel 10:12, NLT.

I’m thankful that the God of Heaven hears prayer.

His answer to Daniel had me glaze over once all the math stuff and calculations started. But in my own life, his answers have been things I can recognize: a refrain of his Word … a friend to help … a meal delivered when I was sick … and even the unexpected change in another’s heart. His answers bear his signature, and I know he is near. I know he has heard me. His answers aren’t always what I expect, and sometimes his answer to my fervent pleading is no.

Lord, thank you for your patience and listening. Thank you for answers and thank you for nearness.

Courtney (66books365)

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, ESV Through the Bible in a Year

2 responses to “Daniel 9, 10; 2 John 1

  1. Erin

    Thank you for these words. So good to be reminded that we are heard. Some equate prayer to mere thoughts or talking to yourself. It is not of this world. He hears and He loves.

  2. “not of this world” The spiritual is not the terrestrial nor the materialistic. Whether I audibly hear God’s answer or accept the signs of His presence in the words, the love, the confrontations, the silence. All are reminders that He answers.

Leave a Reply

