Haggai 1-2; Revelation 16

I have a friend whose mother harbors longtime unforgiveness over a matter. This woman is very flip about it, saying, “I guess that’s just my sin! Everyone has a sin they can’t shake and that’s mine.” She has no intention turning from it.

11 “This is what the Lord of Heaven’s Armies says. Ask the priests this question about the law: 12 ‘If one of you is carrying some meat from a holy sacrifice in his robes and his robe happens to brush against some bread or stew, wine or olive oil, or any other kind of food, will it also become holy?’”

The priests replied, “No.”

13 Then Haggai asked, “If someone becomes ceremonially unclean by touching a dead person and then touches any of these foods, will the food be defiled?”

And the priests answered, “Yes.”

14 Then Haggai responded, “That is how it is with this people and this nation, says the Lord. Everything they do and everything they offer is defiled by their sin. Haggai 2:11-15, NLT.

That sin that she doesn’t think of as such a big deal has contaminated so many aspects of her life. She will not acknowledge it. That sin has cost her many things, including freedom.

Unrepentance cries out from Haggai to Revelation.

A temple, neglected.

Then the Lord sent this message through the prophet Haggai: “Why are you living in luxurious houses while my house lies in ruins? This is what the Lord of Heaven’s Armies says: Look at what’s happening to you! You have planted much but harvest little. You eat but are not satisfied. You drink but are still thirsty. You put on clothes but cannot keep warm. Your wages disappear as though you were putting them in pockets filled with holes!” Haggai 1:2-5, NLT.

A call to rebuild.

I take stock of a year and look ahead to another. What worked? What didn’t? Did my actions underscore my priorities or bump them off my path? What things kept my heart in captivity? How did I serve the Lord? How did I follow him?

Looking ahead to a new year and a renewed focus. Thank you to everyone who has followed along in the Bible with us in 2014. I still haven’t read the Bible cover to cover in a year, but I have read it regularly and that’s made such a difference in my thinking, in my relationships with others, and especially in my response to and love for God.

This is my last post for the year, but we’ll be starting over in 2015 with a new plan that runs Monday through Friday. I hope you’ll join us here on January 1.

Merry Christmas, and very best wishes to each of you.

With gratitude,

Courtney (66books365)

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, ESV Through the Bible in a Year

Leave a Reply

