Genesis 6-8; Psalm 104; Mark 3

On my face in awe along with . . .

Noah after stepping off a year long boat ride with his wife, his boys and their wives, and hundreds of creatures:

“Then Noah built an altar to the Lord, and took of every clean animal and of every clean bird and offered burnt offerings on the altar. 21 The Lord smelled the soothing aroma” – Genesis 8:20-21 (NASB)

And, with the psalmist:

“Let the glory of the Lord endure forever;
Let the Lord be glad in His works;
32 He looks at the earth, and it trembles;
He touches the mountains, and they smoke.
33 I will sing to the Lord as long as I live;
I will sing praise to my God while I have my being.” – Psalm 104: 31-33 (NASB)

And, even the demons couldn’t deny his power:

“Whenever the unclean spirits saw Him, they would fall down before Him and shout, ‘You are the Son of God!’” – Mark 3:11 (NASB)

Just a glimpse and I find myself right there with them. Not in fear or confusion as the demons that cowered, but in pure awe of Who He is and that He has chosen to use me. He knows we sin and that we could never on our own deserve what He has to offer. Yet He interacts with us and loves.

Too often His works remain unnoticed or others receive the credit. God created. He preserved, He interceded. He called,  chose, cleansed, healed, moved, proved, spoke, acted. And we receive the benefit – the beauty, the protection, the peace, the position, the love, healing, fresh start, encouragement, and on and on.

He loves me so deeply, I cant even comprehend it, and so I worship again.

And on my way I go. Taxi-ing children, paying bills, writing emails, making phone calls, grading papers, planning meetings. And I forget to look, to notice, to really see God who remains just as much at work in my everyday life as He was powerfully evident as I raised my hands in awe-filled, tear-stained worship on the weekend.

Afresh I commit, to surrender each day a living sacrifice, to remember and look for Him at work each day, to give Him the glory due His name.

Lord, thank you for accepting the little I have to offer as I respond to your awesome works. Keep invading my thoughts each morning, each afternoon, each evening. ~Amen

Erin (6intow)

3 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan

3 responses to “Genesis 6-8; Psalm 104; Mark 3

  1. So nice to have you back. I’ve always enjoyed your posts.

  2. Ditto what Kathy said!

  3. Hehe, I just found that any comments made were going to my “social” tab on my email. Just discovered these today. 🙂 It’s good to be back. God’s been stirring deeply already this year.

Leave a Reply

