Genesis 12-15, Psalm 148, Mark 5

Have you ever been given a vision? Maybe even just a whisper in your heart that you know is not from you. A quiet whisper that comes out of nowhere and you know is from somewhere deeper. I love how God isn’t afraid to use humans in his master plan. If it were me, I would be looking for the most perfect and obedient people to do my Kingdom work but that’s not how God works. He used simple old Abram. We don’t know much about Abram but what we do see is simple faith. One foot in front of the other, blind faith. Abram’s faith journey starts out like many of ours does. A tiny seed of faith that builds as time goes on. He stumbles and questions and fails but throughout his journey, God uses him over and over to show us his love.

God whispered to Abram early on in his journey, “Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you And I will make of you a great nation and I will bless you and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing”. That was it. Just follow me and I will make you the Father of many nations. Abram goes but immediately shows his human nature when he weaves a tangled mess of lies with Sarai and Pharaoh. I love it. I’m not the only one who believes and then doubts. There’s hope for me, yet!!!!

And just a few chapters later, another whisper, “Abram, Look toward heaven and number the stars, if you are able to number them. So shall your offspring be.” God’s word says that, “Abram believed and it was counted to him as righteousness.” But once again, another failure. Just a few verses later Abram questions God with his human and near sighted mind. How could he be the father of many nations without even one son?
God’s whispers often come quietly and in short obscure ways. Maybe just a piece of the puzzle, without clarity or reason, because our human mind cannot fathom His ways. I look back on times in my life when God has whispered quietly to my heart. Often times, I am frustrated because I don’t understand what those whispers mean. “God, don’t just give me a tiny piece, I want the whole thing!” I remember a very specific time God whispered and incomplete tiny piece of a puzzle to my heart. I was terrified and excited all at the same time. It took months before all the pieces came together, 9 months to be exact. But when the pieces finally came together, I had peace knowing God’s plan is way bigger than mine. If I had known all the details of his plan up front, I wouldn’t have moved. Fear would have gripped me, paralyzed me. I literally wouldn’t have left my house.
When I read this passage, I am encouraged by Abram’s faith and doubts. His humanness shows me that to do God’s kingdom work you do not have to be perfect just willing. Willing to put one foot in front of the other, day by day, moment by moment. God’s fulfillment of the promise to Abram was never based on what Abram did or didn’t do for him. And that one sided promise between God and Abram is the same promise he makes to me through his son, Jesus.

Dear Jesus, thank you for revealing your plan to my heart in your perfect timing. Thank you that there is nothing I need to “do” to keep the promise you made to me. Praise the name of Jesus! ~ Amen

kateredding

Leave a comment

Filed under Genesis

Leave a Reply

