Genesis 32-34; Psalm 145; Mark 13

Every day I will bless You,
And I will praise Your name forever and ever. ~Psalm 145:2 NASB

 What I say to you I say to all, ‘Be on the alert!’” ~Mark 13:37

The life of Jacob, which we see just a snippet of in Genesis 32-34, is such a troubled one.

– A dysfunctional home, with parental favorites and sibling rival that started before birth.

– Deceptive Father-in-law

– Competing wives

– Playing favorites with his own children

– Tension with his brother Esau that  permeates adulthood

– His daughter gets raped

– His sons slaughter every male in a city

And those are just some of the “highlights.” It seems he wrestled with God for control throughout his life. He didn’t seem to overflow with the passion of the psalmist that could not stop the praise from daily escaping his lips. And, Jacob’s line of sight seemed absorbed with his family troubles and lived by his own strength many days rather than remaining on the alert for God’s direction and God at work.

Hebrews 11 does name him as a man of faith, so despite his many struggles throughout life, he did remember and seek to follow God. He knew this world was not his home, even if his choices might have appeared questionable.

He definitely did not pray for something and then sit back and do nothing. He acted. He worked. He pursued. And, God did bless him. With children, with wealth, and with longevity, despite some of the worries that plagued him.

What about me?

At the core, I live by faith, but what about my life story, would it appear otherwise? Got married, moved here, moved there, took a job, had some kids, worked somewhere else, raised kids, etc.

Does my life song lift daily to Him? Am I constantly on the alert for the eternal significance of people and events? Clearly, as Psalm 145:8 says, “The Lord is gracious and merciful; Slow to anger and great in lovingkindness.”

He endured all of Jacob’s missteps. And, He daily forgives mine as well.

Father God, it’s me. Just me. Sinful and world-focused as I am at times, You still choose me. Thank you for your boundless love that is at work and continually calling and teaching and growing and using me, even me. You are so good, let my heart speak of your worth without stop. In Jesus name, Amen

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan

Leave a Reply

