Numbers 19-21; Colossions 4

There was no water there for the community, so they ganged up on Moses and Aaron. They attacked Moses: “We wish we’d died when the rest of our brothers died before God. Why did you haul this congregation of God out here into this wilderness to die, people and cattle alike? Any why did you take us out of Egypt in the first place, dragging us into this miserable country? No grain, no figs, no grapevines, no pomegranates-and now not even any water!” Moses and Aaron walked away from the assembled congregation to the Tent of Meeting and threw themselves face down on the ground. And they saw the glory of God.” Numbers 20:2-6 MSG

I remember a pastor saying that the biggest sin in the bible is forgetfulness. I think about that often. Especially in my own life and how forgetful I can be. I think about how forgetful the Israelites were, but God had patience with them and kept answering their prayers.

Israel vowed a vow to God: “If you will give this people into our power, we’ll destroy their towns and present the ruins to you as a holy destruction.” God listened to Israel’s prayer and gave them the Canaanites. They destroyed both them and their towns, a holy destruction. They named the place Hormah (Holy Destruction).” Numbers 21:2&3 MSG

This is one of those big answers that they should write down or mark as a stone of remembrance. I think of my journal that way. Stones piled up to remind me of God’s faithfulness. More often than not, I can forget to be grateful. I always know when those times are because I get more cranky. I am irritated by the sometimes mundane that use to bring me joy.

Pray diligently. Stay alert, with your eyes wide open with gratitude. Don’t forget to pray for us, that God will open doors for telling the mystery of Christ, even while I’m locked up in this jail. Pray that every time I open my mouth I’ll be able to make Christ plain as day to them. Use your heads as you live and work among outsiders. Don’t miss a trick. Make the most of every opportunity. Be gracious in your speech. The goal is to bring out the best in others in a conversation, not put them down, not cut them out.” Colossions 4:2-6 MSG

Dear Father, Thank you for your patience with me. For always meeting me where I am. For going before me. I want to have a heart like Moses and Aaron, bowing in humility before You. I don’t deserve the gifts that You give me. But, like a loving Father You desire to lavish them on me. Help me to have a thankful heart. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Colossians, Numbers

One response to “Numbers 19-21; Colossions 4

  1. I never thought of my journal as an ebeneezer, a stone of remembrance before. I like that.

Leave a Reply

