Numbers 22-25; Luke 1

God is not a man, so he does not lie.

He is not human, so he does not change his mind.

Has he ever spoken and failed to act?

Has he ever promised and not carried it through? Numbers 23:19

From the beginning of creation God began showing man His intentions toward relationship; even after Adam and Eve fell into sin, God never stopped revealing His plan. Through tests of faith, through covenants, through the mouths of prophets and angels, God divulged His promise to bring redemption to all mankind.

I see him, but not here and now.

I perceive him, but far in the distant future.

A star will rise from Jacob;

a scepter will emerge from Israel…Numbers 24:17

 

“Don’t be afraid, Mary,” the angel told her, “for you have found favor with God! You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you will name him Jesus. He will be very great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his ancestor David. And he will reign over Israel forever; his Kingdom will never end!” Luke 1:30-33

Jesus sent to earth to experience life as a man, to live, to love, to feel sad, to feel angry, to taste temptation yet not succumb, to give Himself as a sacrifice, a gift of grace so that I might be forgiven. A Mighty King brought low by choice to win the battle with my enemy forever. The Living God lifted high to bring new life everlasting.

My Savior rescues me with mercy, making me righteous, making me holy. He takes away my fear, so I can fully serve Him, loving Him with all my heart, my soul, my mind. He offers me real freedom and restoration of everything that has been stolen from me. He transforms my thoughts and renews my spirit.

“Praise the Lord, the God of Israel,

because he has visited and redeemed his people.

He has sent us a mighty Savior

from the royal line of his servant David,

just as he promised

through his holy prophets long ago.

Now we will be saved from our enemies

and from all who hate us.

He has been merciful to our ancestors

by remembering his sacred covenant—

the covenant he swore with an oath

to our ancestor Abraham.

We have been rescued from our enemies

so we can serve God without fear,

in holiness and righteousness

for as long as we live…” Luke 1:68-75

He makes covenant with me, and nothing I do will ever turn His affection against me. He is always with me, the Light that illuminates my path. He teaches me, molding me, fashioning me into His spotless bride. He gives me wisdom, showers me with love. His presence brings me joy and peace. His Word encourages me; it is the truth that offers hope and strengthens me.

For the word of God will never fail. Luke 1:37

 

Blessings – Julie, Sholavandan, India (written in the U.S.A.)

 

Unless otherwise indicated, all Scripture quotations are taken from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation, copyright 1996, 2004, 2007 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Luke, New Testament, Numbers, Old Testament

Leave a Reply

