Numbers 34-36; Luke 4

4) And Jesus answered him, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone.’”

8) And Jesus answered him, “It is written, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God, and him only shall you serve.’”

12) And Jesus answered him, “It is said, ‘You shall not put the Lord your God to the test.’”

So many things strike me about this passage in Luke 4.

  • Christ knew the Scriptures and quoted them effortlessly
  • Satan tempted Jesus
  • Satan tempted Jesus when he was physically spent
  • Jesus walked in the power of the Spirit
  • People, friends and neighbors, questioned his authority
  • Jesus suffered no harm while he had ministry yet ahead of him
  • He spoke with purpose and confidence.

A Jehovah’s Witness came to the door today. I think I was as nervous as she was. A few things we agree on when taken at face value, but I know we place our hope in very different truths.

I offered to pray for her and she quickly backed away and excused herself.

I prayed anyway as the door closed behind her.

But, what if I could command Scripture the way Christ did? I’ve had over 40 years on this earth and He only had 30 at that time. I know He was God in flesh, but He still had human restraints and mental capacities. Maybe if I read His Word every chance I had or when I needed a break rather than playing Candy Crush or checking facebook. Ouch, that was brutally honest.

What if I even studied and prepared the way the JW had before knocking on my door? She knew and she planned what to say. When was the last time I boldly initiated a conversation with someone about my faith, especially a premeditated one? I have the truth. I don’t share out of some driving fear to earn a better eternity. I know God’s overwhelming love as poured out in the pages of Scripture, but I don’t seek the opportunity to share it very persistently.

Very convicted as I sit here pondering the depth of Scripture and the scope of my daily experience.

I know what I need. More time in God’s Word, both in meditative, devotional time and in disciplined study. And, looser lips when it comes to sharing the gospel. It can’t be spoken enough.

Lord God, You patiently lead regardless of my level of faithfulness in following. Show me afresh the awesomeness of your power and love and keep driving me to action. Drive me into Your Word with so much overflow that I can’t help but shout it out. Give me the boldness to seek that opportunity this week, not just to wait for it to come knocking on my door. ~Amen

Erin (6intow)

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Luke

2 responses to “Numbers 34-36; Luke 4

  1. When I read your post, this verse popped in my head: “Let the word of God dwell in you richly…” Colossians 3:16. Not that my little comment lets you off the hook of your convictions, but I think your meditation and writing is an example of living out that verse. The challenge for me is to step out and explore the “richly” part and all that it means. Great post. Praying for your JW visitor. 🙂

  2. Thank you for the encouragement as well! That JW wanted none and has had more prayer than she might think possible. 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

