Deuteronomy 10-14; Psalm 5; Luke 8

If I first meet you and am supposed to share something about myself, I am probably going to tell you a nice version of who I am. It’s unlikely that I am going to expose my weaknesses. I’ll wait until you have been around me for a little while before I pull down the she’s-got-it-altogether facade. After all, isn’t this human nature?

This is one of the reasons I am confident that the Bible is the word of God and divinely inspired. If a man is left to write his memoirs independent of God, he usually puts himself at the center of the story and tells a far more flattering version. The story of Moses and the people of Israel is far from flattering. They are inconsistent and continue to fall gloriously short of being the people God has called them to be. Today’s Deuteronomy passage is no exception.

I can relate to Moses and the people of Israel. The beauty of their story is that it isn’t about them. It’s about the God who loves them and refuses to give up on them. I need this God and I want him in the very center of my life. I don’t want my story to be about how wonderful or how messed up I am, I want it to be about God and his wild and relentless love actively at work in my life. So how do I get there?

I think Erin answers the question in her last Tuesday’s post. It’s about letting God’s story, his word take root in my life and take over. Jesus has this to say about the word and what we are to do with it (Luke 8:15): “But the seed on good soil stands for those with a noble and good heart who hear the word, retain it and persevering produce a crop.”  I want my life to be that kind of soil.

Lord, take this inconsistent, often self preoccupied heart and make it yours. May your word take root and grow so that the beauty of who You are is alive and well within me. Thank you that your love never fails and never gives up. May my life be about you. Amen.

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly…” Colossians 3:16

Klueh

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy, Luke, Psalms

Leave a Reply

