Deuteronomy 19-22; Luke 10

Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed her into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.” But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:38-42 ESV

I have always thought of myself as Mary in this story. I can picture myself sitting with Jesus for hours. Just as I would be having coffee with a good friend. But, as I read it again, the word ” listen” stands out to me. I think about how I can get so distracted with life. I don’t take time to sit in the silence and listen for God’s voice, instead of all the voices around me. This is when my “problems turn into hills.” My pastor used this phrase at church today and is has stuck with me. He also said something so simple, but profound,  “Hills are big to us, but small to God.” I thought about how this is true in my life. And how I have adopted my hills as part of my life.  Just like Israel had just seen God do the unimaginable, yet they turned to fear.

When you go out to war against your enemies, and see horses and chariots and an army larger than your own, you shall not be afraid of them, for the Lord your God is with you, who brought you up out of the Land of Egypt. And when you draw near to the battle, the priest shall come forward and speak to the people and shall say to them, ‘Hear, O Israel, today you are drawing near for battle against your enemies: let not your heart faint. Do not fear or panic or be in dread of them, for the Lord your God is he who goes with you to fight for you against your enemies, to give you victory.”Deuteronomy 20:1-4ESV

Dear Jesus, Thank you that You go before me. That I have no reason to be afraid because You are with me. Thank you for what You have freed me from. I pray for victory in my life over those things that still hold be in bondage. To You be the glory. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy, Luke

Leave a Reply

