Deuteronomy 32-34; Psalm 13; Luke 13

I want clarity, control and power over the direction of my life.

I dislike being wrong; being right feels oh so good.

I want to live by formulas that I know work.

Jesus provides clarity; to live for him is to surrender any illusion of control and power. He asks me to adopt a whole new kind of math, a new form of life economics; “Indeed there are those who are last who will be first, and first who will be last.” Luke 13:10He asks me to put my questions aside: “Who is good enough? Who gets it right?” In God’s kingdom the insignificant things of life take on a glorious life of their own. The tiny mustard seed takes root and becomes the sheltering tree.

When I cling to the old order and snub his grace, I hear his sorrow expressed, “O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you are not willing! Look, your house is left to you desolate. I tell you, you will not see me again until you say, “Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.'” Luke 13:34-35

Present day Jerusalem, the beleaguered city known for centuries of conflict and sorrow still waits for peace. When Jesus cried out in sorrow for Jerusalem did he know then that the city would remain broken and hurting today? Does God grow weary of being rejected? I believe God longs for Jerusalem’s restoration as well as my own.

Lord, this Holy Week show me how I reject you and your kingdom. Peel back and expose those the layers of my life that resist you. Forgive me for my hardness of heart and restore me to the life you have called me to. Thank you for your patient pursuing love and grace. Amen

Klueh

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy, Luke, Psalms

Leave a Reply

