Joshua 1-4; Psalm 143; Luke 14

Motives.

We often judge them, we often mis-judge them, even our own. Only God truly knows what hides within our heart.

The Israelites motives as they entered the promised land (sincerity, fear, material gain — only God knows)

Rahab’s motives in hiding the spies

And, David’s prayer for deliverance in Psalm 143, “Therefore my spirit is overwhelmed within me;
My heart is appalled within me. . . Answer me quickly, O Lord, my spirit fails;

Jesus probes the motives of the masses listening to Him, “Is it lawful to heal on the Sabbath, or not?”

For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled”

they may also invite you in return and that will be your repayment.

“If anyone comes to Me, and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be My disciple.”

“if even salt has become tasteless, with what will it be seasoned? 35 It is useless”

 

How pure are my motives? I walk the walk, but is my heart in it?

Examining myself once again as we head into the week prior to Easter. It is easy to go through the motions, multiple service options, great worship, but this week I’m seeking to intentionally prepare my heart for the celebration on Sunday morning (or Saturday night if we happen to go to church then – we usually do, but on Easter weekend it just seems wrong).

This week I will dig deeper, intentionally into God’s Word. Reading the gospels more carefully, more fully. Good Friday will give me opportunity to mourn the grief He bore, but I need to walk with Him this week to even be ready to fathom the depths of that remembrance.

God knows the purity of my motives, the focus of my heart, the content of my thoughts. This week, more than many others, I need to drive, daily, constantly, into His teaching. Laying bare the sin that still resists change, mercilessly opening the doors I have clenched shut. Letting the awesome Creator of the universe do the work that only He is capable of doing in making me His masterpiece.

Lord, work in me, whether my desire meets the standard or not, have Your way in my life, my choices, my thoughts. Thank you for setting the example in pure motives, and challenging my own. Keep doing Your work. Privileged to serve as a vessel ~Amen

 

Erin (6intow)

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Joshua, Luke, Psalms

One response to “Joshua 1-4; Psalm 143; Luke 14

  1. “In repentance and rest is your salvation…” Is 30:15 came to mind when I read your post. I am with you. Thank you for pointing me to the Cross.

Leave a Reply

