Judges 9-11; Psalm 17; Luke 23

“Go and cry out to the gods you have chosen. Let them save you when you are in trouble.” Judges 10:14

“With one voice they cried out, ‘Away with this man! Give us Barabbas!’ Luke 23:18

There are some things that we have absolutely no control over: where we are born, who we are born to, who our siblings are, most of our physical characteristics. Sometimes, I feel a little like Forrest Gump, blithely moving through history fully engaged, but with a limited understanding of the events that define my times and generation. Forces much greater than I are at work.

Today’s scriptures give us a glimpse of how much choice we humans are allowed by the God who is so much greater than us. And yet we often choose so badly. We are born out of the very imagination and will of God, yet he never forces us to accept him as our Lord and King. I can not pretend that I am better than the Israelites who grew bored with God and turned to the puny gods of their neighbors, nor can I think that I am incapable of having joined the crowd that chose Barabbas over Jesus and yelled, “Crucify him!” 

The Bible reveals that God knows this about me and loves me so much that he has made the provision for me to turn from my rebellion and accept him. I learned this simple fact early on from the children’s song, Jesus Loves Me, This I Know. Once again, it comes down to the choice before me; repent, accept the forgiveness offered by Jesus and enjoy the undeserved honors and benefits of being a child of God.

David understood the depths of God’s love and prayed accordingly. His prayer can be ours, if we choose it.

I call on you, O God, for you will 

answer me;

give ear to me and hear my prayer.

Show me the wonder of your love,

you who save by your right hand

those who take refuge in you from their foes.

Keep me as the apple of your eye;

hide me in the shadow of you wings…

Psalm 17:6-8

Thank you for your undeserved love for me. Lord, help me keep my eyes on you and serve you only. Amen.

Klueh

1 Comment

Filed under Judges, Luke, Psalms

One response to “Judges 9-11; Psalm 17; Luke 23

  1. The mob mentality and the company we keep…maybe it is better to avoid those places, people, and things that would draw our attention away from our God. Be ye holy means to separate ourselves from that which entices our hearts to deny God or water down His grace. Kathy, you could never be one of ‘those.’ : )) The forces that rule our hearts are found in the Trinity and what assurance that brings to our earthly walk!

Leave a Reply

