1 Samuel 3-5; Psalm 23; Acts 6

The boy Samuel was serving God under Eli’s direction. This was at a time when the revelation of God was rarely heard or seen. One night Eli was sound asleep. Samuel was still in bed in the Temple of God, where the chest of God rested. Then God called out, “Samuel, Samuel!” Samuel answered, “Yes? I’m here.” Then he ran to Eli saying, “I heard you call. Here I am.” Eli said, “I didn’t call you. Go back to bed.” And so he did. God called again and again, “Samuel!-the third time!” That’s when it dawned on Eli that God was calling the boy. So Eli directed Samuel, “Go back and lie down. If the voice calls again, say ‘Speak, God. I’m your servant , ready to listen.” Samuel returned to his bed. Then God came and stood before him exactly as before, calling out, Samuel! Samuel!” Samuel answered, “Speak. I’m your servant, ready to listen.”

1 Sam 3MSG

Samuel and Stephen were both set apart for God’s work. They were ready and eager to obey what God was telling them. “Samuel grew up. God was with him, and Samuel’s prophetic record was flawless. Everyone in Israel, from Dan in the north to Beersheba in the south, recognized that Samuel was the real thing-a true prophet of God.”1 Samuel 3:19-20MSG. Just as the ark was with Samuel and Eli, it seems that God’s same presence could be felt around Stephen. Stephen, brimming with God’s grace and energy, was doing wonderful things among the people, unmistakable signs that God was among them.” Acts 6:8 MSG.

Am I inviting God’s presence into my life so I can hear Him speaking to me?

Dear Father, I desire to hear from you. I pray that I wouldn’t squelch your Holy Spirit. But, that I would welcome You into all the corners of my mind. Thank you for your faithfulness. Amen.

God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing. You have bedded me in lush meadows, you find me quiet pools to drink from. True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction.” Psalm 23: 1-3 MSG

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel, 66 Books, Acts, New Testament, Old Testament, Psalms, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

