I Samuel 14; Psalm 124; Acts 10

“It may be that the Lord will work for us, for nothing can hinder the Lord from saving by many or by few.” I Samuel 14:6 ASV

“If it had not been the Lord who was on our side— when people rose up against us, then they would have swallowed us up alive, when their anger was kindled against us” Psalm 124:1,2-3

“And he stared at him in terror and said, “What is it, Lord?” And he said to him, “Your prayers and your alms have ascended as a memorial before God.” Acts 10:4

I’ve often wondered about Jonathan. He seemed an honorable man. He might have made a great king after his father had not David come to reign. However, rather than use him as king, God used him as an instrument to place David on the throne. Jonathan showed that he trusted God and followed his guidance, and he was exactly where God wanted him to be.

His success came only because God was on His side.

Just like Cornelius, not a leader in the church, although a significant military leader in his own right, yet God had a plan to use him in the position in which He had him.  Known as the first Gentile convert, we know almost nothing of him aside from the mention of his dramatic conversion here. I imagine he went on to share his faith boldly, especially with those under his authority, but we don’t really know. God used him, where he was, for His glory.

Great faithfulness on the part of man does not translate to “great” service or titles or fame or control or influence. Faithfulness is our daily call. We cannot do anything apart from God. Our opponents will overwhelm if we try to do it on our own, whether we lead hundreds or thousands, or are just responsible for ourselves. Jonathan faithfully listened to God, Israel found protection when they fought in the name of the Lord, and Cornelius received a special word from God and salvation because of his faithful prayer and generosity.

As for me, sometimes I seek the recognition. Sometimes I am let down when no one notices the work I’ve done. Yes, my heart is in the wrong place at times. God can still redeem it and use my prideful offering, and He keeps gently reminding me to let go of it, and leave the outcome to Him. I don’t know how He plans to use me over the course of my lifetime, but I don’t need to either. I know what is expected of me.

Daily faithfulness.

Thank you, Lord, for those that so faithfully serve you with no regard for self. Please help me to continue to learn to deny myself and lift up Your name without any self-driven motivation. You alone deserve all the glory, You alone know the best plan, You alone are all I need. ~Amen

Erin (6intow)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

