1 Chronicles 22-25; Psalm 78; Romans 5

It seemed like a selection. David’s hands wouldn’t be the ones to build the temple, too much blood. His son would succeed him.

Then David sent for his son Solomon and instructed him to build a Temple for the Lord, the God of Israel. “My son, I wanted to build a Temple to honor the name of the Lord my God,” David told him. “But the Lord said to me, ‘You have killed many men in the battles you have fought. And since you have shed so much blood in my sight, you will not be the one to build a Temple to honor my name. But you will have a son who will be a man of peace. I will give him peace with his enemies in all the surrounding lands. His name will be Solomon, and I will give peace and quiet to Israel during his reign. 10 He is the one who will build a Temple to honor my name.'” 1 Chronicles 22:6-10a, NLT.

God called Solomon son. (I love that part.)

“‘He will be my son, and I will be his father. And I will secure the throne of his kingdom over Israel forever.’” 1 Chronicles 22:10b, NLT.

These scriptures talk about appointment, leadership, service, obedience (and disobedience). Through generations, families prepared and trained in their trade or talent–maybe at times they didn’t imagine a bigger purpose aside from their now, but generations later that work would build the house of the Lord.

Adam’s story was part of a bigger story.

18 Yes, Adam’s one sin brings condemnation for everyone, but Christ’s one act of righteousness brings a right relationship with God and new life for everyone. 19 Because one person disobeyed God, many became sinners. But because one other person obeyed God, many will be made righteous. Romans 5:18-19, NLT.

Through Christ’s work, death and resurrection, the Holy Spirit can now live in me. And I can also be called a child of God. (I love that part!)

For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love. Romans 5:5b, NLT.

I think about what it is God has prepared for me to do. A lot of it just looks like my now, but God knows how any of that will endure.

Lord, you are my heart’s delight. I know there are times when I’m forgetful of what you’ve done or said, and I’m thankful for people in my life who speak truth to me. Thank you for calling me daughter and loving me dearly. I love you too.

Courtney (66books365)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan

Leave a Reply

