Amos 1-3; Matthew 13

58 And so he did only a few miracles there because of their unbelief. Matthew 13:58, NLT

I used to manage a team that provided hospitality at our church. A team member would provide a meal for up to twenty people. When I was scheduled to cook, I’d brace myself at the grocery check out as I purchased my household’s weekly food and the additional foods for the big meal. My bill always came in under what I’d spend on just my family of four.

I’ve had some rough spots with some relationships. Sometimes I felt like my efforts were getting me nowhere closer to reconciliation. I don’t know if it was in frustration or defeat, but I remember several occasions where I’d said to the Lord, “God, if you want me to not give up here, you’re going to have to do something.” And He always did, in a big way.

We recently had a family over for dinner. They moved away from our area about two years ago when the husband accepted a job. But they were back in town visiting friends as they prepared to move again–this time out of the country for two years to be missionaries. The details of their story were falling into place so quickly that I think they were trying to keep up.

Jesus goes back to Nazareth.

54 He returned to Nazareth, his hometown. When he taught there in the synagogue, everyone was amazed and said, “Where does he get this wisdom and the power to do miracles?” 55 Then they scoffed, “He’s just the carpenter’s son, and we know Mary, his mother, and his brothers—James, Joseph, Simon, and Judas. 56 All his sisters live right here among us. Where did he learn all these things?” 57 And they were deeply offended and refused to believe in him.

Then Jesus told them, “A prophet is honored everywhere except in his own hometown and among his own family.” Matthew 54-57, NLT.

At first, everyone was amazed. Then they scoffed.

How many times have I been amazed at what God has done in my life, but then go back to thinking within in my own power? Why do I not constantly live in amazement of God, but let my hope and faith get dulled by rationalization and limitation?

When Jesus talks to the disciples about the kingdom of heaven, I want my heart’s response to be like the man who finds the treasure in the field–he knows the riches in that treasure are more than he’s got, and he sells everything he owns to buy the field.

Lord, I’m looking for you today. Instead of getting bogged down with what is wrong, I’m looking for you and what is right. I’m believing in you.

Courtney (66books365)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan

Leave a Reply

