Hosea 11-13; Matthew 19

If you want to give it all you’ve got,” Jesus replied, “go sell your possessions; give everything to the poor. All your wealth will then be in Heaven. Then come follow me.” That was the last thing the young man expected to hear. And so, crestfallen, he walked away. He was holding on tight to a lot of things, and he couldn’t bear to let go. As he watched him go, Jesus told His disciples, “Do you have any idea how difficult it is for the rich to enter God’s kingdom? Let me tell you, it’s easier to gallop a camel through a needle’s eye than for the rich to enter God’s kingdom.” The disciples were staggered. “Then who has any chance at all?” Jesus looked hard at them and said, “No chance at all if you think you can pull it off yourself. Every chance in the world if you trust God to do it.” Matthew 19:21-26 MSG

I had considered myself a generous person, until I let the words of Matthew soak in. I couldn’t help but ask myself, “What am I holding onto?” Most of the time, it’s the condition of my heart that comes out through other ways. That is when I start to rely on myself and replace trust with worry.  Though, I have seen God give back to me more and in abundance when I give something away. Like the time I reluctantly made a meal for someone else, even though I was wondering how I was going to feed my own family on a limited budget. The next week, my husband came home from work with a pile of boxed pizzas that were given to him. We couldn’t even fit them all in our freezer.  But, it’s  not always tangible…it’s also when I don’t think I have anymore of myself to give, He sustains me.   I am thankful for those times of His faithfulness to help me remember. Because, just like Israel, I can be so forgetful.

I’m still your God, the God who saved you out of Egypt. I’m the only real God you’ve ever known. I’m the one and only God who delivers. I took care of you during the wilderness hard times, those years when you had nothing. I took care of you, took care of all your needs, gave you everything you needed. You were spoiled. You thought you didn’t need me. You forgot me.” Hosea 13:4-6 MSG

Sometimes, I just need to return to Him. And remember that only He will satisfy me.

Then Peter chimed in, “We left everything and followed You. What do we get out of it?” Jesus replied, “…This is the Great Reversal: many of the first ending up last, and the last fist.”Matthew 19:30 MSG

Thank you Father, how You have provided for me and my family. You have given me so much,  that I don’t deserve.   I pray that my heart’s desire would be to give it all back to You, because it Is ALL Yours. Thank You for Your faithfulness. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under Hosea, Matthew

Leave a Reply

